Queenstown Dart River and Pure Craziness


Advertisement
Oceania
March 21st 2012
Published: March 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was a blast. We meet our tour company (Dart River Jet Safaris) across the street for our hotel ( that was easy) around 8am. We were transferred by bus to Glenorchy where we then boarded a 4 wheel drive bus. We made our way through the Mt. Aspiring National Park and to a point on the Dart River. For all you "Lord of the Rings" fans apparently several scenes were filmed in this park. Other movies (Vertical Limit, Chronicles of Narnia, The Great Escape, and Origins Wolverine) and tv commercials were filmed in this area as well. We eventually took a short hike to the Dart River and our jet boat. Took a fast cold trip up the river and back down to Glenorchy. Along the way we awed at the Southern Alps, Dart Glacier, Rockburn Chasm and just super cool maneuvers from our driver. We did a few 360's which happen to be way cooler than any carnival or amusement park rides! The weather was fabulous. Cool in the early morning and down right hot by the end of the trip.

We had lunch in Glenorchy, population 250, and enjoyed the local fare.

But the excitment has just begun. When we arrived back in town we were dropped off at the AJ Hackett Bungy reservation center! I told some of you I was going to try it and I DID!

Talked Bill into jumping too. We reserved a jump at the original site of the Kawarua Bridge. They have been helping people throw caution to the wind since 1988.

So, we get in this bus, all of us- Allison is going to watch mama and daddy jump 43 meters from a bridge into a river! The bus is half full and most people are not over 28 years of age. The dark has dark upholstry, tinted windows and AC/DC is cranking on the stereo. I'm laughing inside, thinking this is the best way to deal with a midlife crisis and not really sure if I'm having one or just crazy!

We get to the bridge within 25 minutes. There it is a bridge with two Bungy stations over the Kawarau River. Bill and Ihave to go one at a time so someone can be with Allison. I ask to go first, because if I think about this for too long I will chicken out, maybe.

I kiss Allison and Bill and walk on the bridge from the observation area and turn around to look at my loved ones, one last time. This nice young girl helps me get in a harness which is an extra security item, I am told. As I wait, I ask everyone around me if they have jumped before, no one has. I feel better. If they can do it so can I. After about 10 minutes its my turn. I sit down and watch as another young girl wraps my ankles together in a towel and the wraps some webbing/ cording and hooks up the Bungy. She does it so fast, I trust her completely. I hop out to the edge of a small wooden platform, she holds me at the waist and counts to three. At three, I swan dive out into the air! It takes about 3seconds to reach the water ( I'm about 4 feet above) and there I go and again. I think I clapped and said "crazy" and of course I yelled abit on the way down. I popped up and down a few times. Then I was lowered into a raft where to young strong guys heLped pull me down and in. I was unhooked and on land within minutes. Now all I had to do was hike up a steep long river bank to rejoin my family. Bill goes next. He jumps with what seems to be with ease, we buy pictures and head back to Queentown

Dinner is pizza and a coke!

Tomorrow is to Milford Sound.

Advertisement



21st March 2012
UploadedFile3

it all looks so beautiful
I wish I had stowed away in your suitcase
21st March 2012
UploadedFile4

OMGosh
you ARE crazy!!
22nd March 2012

Bungee jumping!
Joe says: what an exciting day! what did Allison think?! I say: there's no way that I could ever do that! Love the colorful pics. One more week? Amazing! Happy Spring! <3
23rd March 2012

Bungy
Allison was concerned, then decided she would do it when she is older!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb