Training


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu
October 14th 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At this very moment, I am at an island called Lelepa. There are no roads, no running water or electricity (except for those posh enough to have a generator). I'm fairly certain there is a rat in my room, but no matter. I have a new name, Lei Taf. Lei is a local name given to locals and Taf means 'tough.' I live with a family; mama, papa Sonia (10), and Saramia (2). I own a bush knife and with no exaggeration tell you my 2 year old sista uses it better than I. Yes, it makes me nervous seeing a 2 year old play with such things, but I seem to be the only one. My 'closet' (read: hangers on nails) consists of island dresses and I love it. Other than having to wear shorts and a t-shirt to swim, I love the island dress. I enjoy wearing skirts and dresses every day.

I've been incredibly busy between language lessons, health lectures, security lectures, cross cultural training, appropriate technology (read: pit toilet, making soap, and other bush activities), etc. I'm in overload. Plus, my intentions are to come home and talk Bislama with my family and mama is helping me weave a tray. (Yes, I've already found something to do with my hands). When I can try I do things with other volunteers, like today we went snorkeling. The water is amazing but the beaches (here at least) have been all coral. Snorkeling is great; you almost always see large blue starfish and massive sea cucumbers. And a couple of times I've gone to the nakamal for some kava. I've only ever had small amounts.

Kava-Kava is made by taking part of the root. Cut it into small pieces and soaked and crushed/ground over and over till a muddy water is left. It is served in bowls or coconut shells so you buy a 100 or a 50 (or half shell). 100=about US $1 and 50 about US$.50. You take it and not facing anyone, drink it all down. I feel as though I should be putting it on my face and letting it dry, spa like. But I don't, I drink it up and my tongue goes all tingly. Like I've just come from the dentist or swallowed some Orajel. But 50 is all I've done and that is not enough to really feel it. Nakamals are very quiet. Apparently, the effects of kava completely relax you, suppress your appetite, and make you a bit trippy. There are a few boys who spend all their allowance at the Nakamal. Like I said, I haven't quite done it enough to really understand. For instance, mama wouldn't let me wash dishes tonight because I'm not to touch cold water. I feel nothing after the numb tongue goes away. Oh, well.

The people here are absolutely lovely. I hope my community on the outer island is as great. So like I said, mama has been teaching me to weave and everyone from the village has come to see me weave. Amazed to see a white man weave like a ni van (read: local, sounds like knee van). By the way, I had to explain to my family that not just white people come from America.

The food here is ok. They don't really eat spicy stuff but mama did make a nice curry with the marlin uncle caught. It has been kind of cool and rainy which is very odd for this time of year. I have bucket showers in a space called a swim haos. There is dead coral everywhere and shells with crabs in them. Yes, I bathe with hermit crabs. I go to the bathroom in a small haus. It is a 'flush toilet.' Meaning, I dump water in after I'm done and that pushes the waste down into a pit. You can't sit on the toilet as there is no seat, so my legs are getting strong squatting.

My training group consists mainly of those who just finished school but the other 45% of us are retired or married couples or me. Yes, I'm really the only single gal my age. But everyone is lovely, so no worries. Won't matter as in a few weeks we'll all be alone on our islands.

I still don't know where I'm going to be placed and am slowly learning more about my job. The great part about my job is also the bad part. I will be working at a rural training center or RTC. RTC's are informal schools so there is no real structure to it. So, it's been hard to get info. There are groups I will be working with and it does seem all very exciting.

The education system works like this:
Children go to school til Year 6, at this time they are tested. If they pass, they continue on. This should be changing to Year 8 this year. So anyways, school here is not free. So whether it be they can't afford to go to school or they don't pass the Year 6 exam, a lot of people don't go beyond a secondary or even a primary education. And not everyone is meant to. The RTC's are set up so that students have another option. They (RTC) have coursework like maths, English (maybe even TEFL) and then they also offer vocational training like carpentry, life skills, sewing, weaving, etc.

In two weeks, I visit my site for a week. At that point, I'll know more about what I'll be doing. At the moment, I haven't even been assigned to my island yet.

Also, as part of my job, we will have to come up with ways for the community to generate revenue and agriculture has been drilled into our heads. They have these 'bush gardens' here. They basically have gardens that you or I would not recognize unless it were pointed out to us.

Ok, well I've 'storian tumas' (talk too much) for now. Everything is great. I'll write more in a few weeks, when I know exactly where I'll be going.

All packages will always be sent to the address I had given you. And hopefully my island will have a post office so I can get letters. God knows I won't be able to get online except in a blue moon.

P.S. Check back for photos.

Edit-On 10/24/06 notified of placement on the island of Ambrym.

Disclaimer: The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Advertisement



28th October 2006

we miss you
We miss you Christa! The girls and I really enjoyed the letter you sent. Sophia's reaction was this: "wow, she's really making alot of sacrifices." so true. I'm getting a package together for you...I hope it's stuff you can use or at least will enjoy. Thanks for the update.
30th October 2006

amazing!
chris- sounds like vanuatu is amazing...ghana is coolio as well. i will send you a msg on myspace with more details or send me your email and i will put you on my email list (kimberlyrawls@gmail.com). i hope you are having the time of your life! ciao-kimberly

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb