Tanna: We Came for the BBQ!


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu » Tanna
July 15th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Welcome to Tanna


Electric Circus, Vanuatu-styleElectric Circus, Vanuatu-styleElectric Circus, Vanuatu-style

This ain't no Macarena!
Photos by Cody Reed
Except spider and volcano photos (taken by yours truly)


My Only Travel Tip: Forget every travel tip you've ever been given, including this one.


I keep trying to sit down and describe this final stop in the Pacific Ocean before sailing to Australia, but the moment I try to write about it, I erase it all and try to start again.

So I'll start again.

Up until 5 months ago, I had never even heard of the country of Vanuatu. I hadn't heard of the tiny island of Tanna in its southern waters either until we set our course to it!

It became one of those very rare places while traveling when you arrive with absolutely no expectations, no travel advice, and not one single idea of what you might encounter.

One moment, we were battling the fury of an angry ocean, surrounded by nothing but frothing water and crashing waves, and the next, sliding into a mysterious bay overlooked by frond huts, on a tiny South Seas island dominated by tropical jungle and a rumbling, smoking volcano.

I hesitate to write any more and just let the photos tell the story. I hate the thought of building up another traveler's expectations about the place.

I want to describe drinking kava (a mild intoxicant made from a native plant root) in the nakamal under a full moon, walking barefoot along the jungle trails in the middle of the night with our new friends while carrying smoldering sticks as torches, entering primitive villages and exchanging gifts with the chief (receiving namely feathers, vegetables and piglets), or playing soccer with a bunch of shrieking kids on a black volcanic sand beach.. but instead I'll just wait til the stories pour out over a pint of beer back at home one day!

That said, describing the stories themselves is the easy part. Describing the feeling you get when you think you've discovered paradise on earth is another thing altogether, especially where and when you never expected to find it.

We came for the BBQ... then let the adventure all unfold before our eyes.

- Written while sailing west from Vanuatu towards Australia, on this final 1000 mile stretch of the Pacific Ocean.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The Feast!The Feast!
The Feast!

Everyone and their dog showed up..
The women prepared the feast.The women prepared the feast.
The women prepared the feast.

(while us manly men went to the nakamal to get wasted on kava)
Tonight's main course: Pig.Tonight's main course: Pig.
Tonight's main course: Pig.

Is there a chicken or fish option?


30th July 2008

Paradise - you bet!
Absolutely fantastic Clive, and it was great to see some shots of you, looking well and happy. An experience you will never forget, and we won't either after we have that pint of beer together and really catch up. Thank you for broadening our outlook on life!
31st July 2008

Awesome
Clive, your trip looks awesome! Really no way to imagine. Mark
1st August 2008

Shhhh no one tell Lonely Planet!
This is a wonderful and perfect blog, great photos and what a rare find. Pity the google link adverts below are asking to buy real estate there...!
2nd August 2008

I want to go here!
Thanks for finding such an interesting place...i had never heard of it. I would love if you could recount a few stories.
2nd August 2008

Wow
Clive you are an inspiration to all of us money earning, selfish minded individuals who spend their lives focused on the consumption instead of contribution phylosophies in our world. Through your blog I have not only learned about your travels, but I have also learned about you and I dare say all of us a little. As I said at the beginning you are an inspiration and indeed you help many of us see the world just a little bit differently and I am grateful for that. Sincerely Norm
4th August 2008

Thanks Norm!
Wow! Thanks for the great comment Norm! You're the greatest... :)
7th August 2008

Beautiful people and Island
Hayley forwarded your pics to myself. I'm glad she did. This Island is a place I have never heard of either. Also, I saw the gifts they gave you in the pics posted. I'm curious as to if you left anything with them (besides the grass noises I mean, although it's a preferrable pass time to parents to grass smoking). I ask this because I don't know much about your travelling and what your motivations are for doing so. Is it fun, philanthropy, for information gathering or a combination thereof? What fuels your passion for travel? Adventure on...
23rd November 2008

Real paradise
Clive, I really appreciate the words you did/didn't speak to describe this place!! I lived in Vanuatu (Tanna for 4 months) for 18 months. It is an amazing place with amazing people!! I love this site and think you did it justice!!
6th February 2011
Electric Circus, Vanuatu-style

Hello, my name's Laura, i'm 18 and I live in Switzerland. I'm doing a work of maturity for my diploma of the end of study. My work is entitled " Religions strange for Vanuatu and in Oceania ". I have to make an interview and I wondered if it would be possible to ask to you some questions (that is by email or by skype) on your journey in Vanuatu for my presentation. I look forward of your news Greetings Laura

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 24; qc: 110; dbt: 0.1263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb