"First star to the left, then straight on till morning."


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu » Santo
August 29th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Getting ready to leave Vanuatu, for Australia. Though we have been saying that for a week.
Yes we have spent a week here at Aore Resort in Luganville. Paul has been doing some cool dives on the wreck the USS Coolidge. I sank here during WWII, hit a friendly mine.
Me, I've been doing bugger all since getting here. Mostly sitting around the pool, getting some much needed R&R.
The last few days I've had some interesting birds to watch. They were dive bombing the pool. At first I thought they were drinking but I think they were picking the bugs off the water. These are small, sparrow like birds. They are black with white tails. But I can't tell if they have the split tail of a sparrow or not. Anyway, it starts at one end and swoops in, just missing or touching the water. Sometimes you see a single tell tale ripple. Then it pulls up, and flys back to the starting point to do it again. This goes on for about 5-10 minutes then it will dissappear for about an hour. Yup that is my day.

We are hoping to leave on Thursday. Right now we are just waiting on good weather out in the coral sea. Looks like it will be a 7-14 day journey. Depending on winds and weather. We also plan to stop in the middle at Chesterfield Reef. Yes there is a reef in the middle of the ocean that you can anchor at.

"Straight on Till morning" has become a common saying for me on passage. Paul takes over watch at 1AM until 6AM. If all is well, I usually tell him that he is good to go "straight on till morning"
We don't navigate by the first star on the left though. We are already in NeverNever land.

Yes, I do have more tales to tell of Vanuatu. However, they really need pictures to best describe the dancing, and volcanoes and other things. The internet here in Luganville is really just too slow and expensive to upload all the pics. So you will have to be patient for a couple of more weeks until I get to Oz. Then I will fill you all in.

Ok, Next stop Oz.


Advertisement



29th August 2006

Carson Palmer update
Remember Palmer blew his knee out? Played last night for first time preseason, looked awesome. The Bengals are contenders, just FYI.
3rd September 2006

still reading
Farrell, I check in every once in a while and glad to see the saga continues. "Straight on till morning" sounds like a nice way to navigate. I'm sure the trip has been a more than you thought it would be so far. The stories are cool. I'll check in again soon. dave-o
24th November 2006

Hi!
Hi sailor! I finally read your blog ! Will print preatty soon some pages to read in the train in Paris on my way home!! All the best to you and Paul. MLuce

Tot: 0.32s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb