Tuna Melt Christmas


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu » Santo
December 11th 2000
Published: April 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

School BeachSchool BeachSchool Beach

Well there wasn't much beach there because of the tide, but it was still fantastic.
Yesterday we went down to the school beach where we had a relaxing float around South Pacific Style. We played with coconuts in their various stages, even a little coconut baseball. I feel I'm thinking clearer. I don't know if it’s the South Pacific or what, but I like where I'm at right now. I can't believe that its Christmas time. I keep listening to my Christmas carols to keep myself in the spirit. It will be interesting to observe a Kiwi Christmas next week. It was amazing yet again floating around in the South Pacific. It is such a mythical destination that conjures up all sorts of images and to actually be here is amazing.

It is now Monday morning and my friend has gone off to meet the new Peace Corps volunteers and gather supplies. He left at 6am in the midst of a torrential rain. Not good weather for being out, but it created the perfect environment for sleep. So I slept another solid five hours. I'm now thinking that I like my independence, free from attachments. But I do have to remember lessons that I've learned from this trip, especially Noosa. I'm still a little frustrated
No Papers in the South SeasNo Papers in the South SeasNo Papers in the South Seas

Right there in Paradise.
about opportunities missed, but hey there's not much I can do about that.

* * * * * *

After dozing and listening to Christmas carols my friend returned. And then it was Tuna Melt Time. There is nothing better then a freshly prepared Tuna Melt in the late morning. It is the perfect food for such an occasion. There is something about how good food tastes when you don't have access to it 24 hours a day like you do back home. One of the big things here in Vanuatu is generosity with food. When you are having food and someone else is around you are almost culturally obligated to share. Visitors are exempt from this, but you still get in the habit. Tuna Melt Brittany?




Note: My Vanuatu trip directly follows The Aussie Diaries. These entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-university adventure to the southern hemisphere. They are a bit on the rough side. Also, I will reorganize and add more photos when I finished putting in all the other Vanuatu entries.


added april 24, 2006



Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 28; qc: 120; dbt: 0.1438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb