History Museum and Hide-Away Island


Advertisement
Vanuatu's flag
Oceania » Vanuatu » Efate
June 21st 2014
Published: June 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

So today marks the first day of full adventure in Vanuatu, to say that I am excited is the understatement of the year. We are headed to the Vanuatu History Museum where again Edgar will be doing some of the amazing sand drawings and telling us the stories of his land. He told us a story of teenagers and of love, it was amazing to be apart of that cultural experience. After the drawings we were allowed to walk around the Museum and have a look around, there was so much to see and take in in such a short amount of time. However I had to take some time out to have a look at the traditional fishing gear, it made we want to make all the anglers in the Vic Bream Classic, use this and see how they go without their $1000.00 rods and reels. Hand lines and hand made nets in carved tree trunks. I was offered the opportunity to go fishing one night after school with Edgar, which is rather a rare opportunity as the women are traditionally not allowed to partake in this. Next Erin and I took the short walk into town and began looking at the wonderful traditional clothing, the bright colours and the feel of the fabric is truly stunning. I did buy 3 wraps for teaching and they are amazing I have been wearing them everyday, After lunch we all jumped on a bus and head out to Hide-Away Island, were we all got to go snorkelling. It was fantastic, as soon as you stepped into the water there were tiny little fish swimming around, me and my gopro were set to explore the vast deeps of the Island. I almost got whip last for the first 30 minutes I was in there, as there is just so much for my eyes to see. I swam up onto a reef where it looked like the reef in finding nemo and to look down on the tiny fish swimming through the water made me think that I was that diver in Finding Nemo who was taking the photos. The Island was truly an amazing place, I was the last one left in the water i spent all 4 hours in the water exploring. many of the other group members found the local bar and cocktails more exciting than the coral reef I was enjoying. Unfortunately there is 4 hours of video and over 3000 photos on my gopros to go through so I will have to look through them all when I get back, if I come back. There was an underwater post office at the Island, however I did not send any postcards from there. I was also lucky enough to swim with a passing school of trevally which was amazing they were circling me and i thought they were going to start making formations and play charades with me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb