Tonga Side School


Advertisement
Tonga's flag
Oceania » Tonga
September 15th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Thursday and Friday I went up to the village school to help out. (I had gone up on Monday to offer my services). It was called Tonga Side School and was attached to a Tongan speaking Primary school but the side school taught everything in English. I helped in class 3 (7 and 8 year olds). They had wooden benches and desks and blackboards along the front wall. They follow the New Zealand syllabus so what they teach is similar to English schools. At lunch time on Thursday we visited a teacher who was ill- he had been paralysed on his left side but he was now fine on the left and couldn't move the right side- it was an evil spirit. We sat on a large mat in his house and they sang and said words in Tongan which I assume where prayers. I felt honoured to be invited.

Back at school it seems they spend all day throwing rubbish out the window and then at the end of the day they all go outside and pick the rubbish up!! On the Friday the staff normally have a staff meeting while the children have a religion lesson with the local priest but they didn't come so instead they had most of the children (about 130) in one room watching a video which they then left me in charge of!! After break they had spelling and handwriting - their handwriting is perfect. After lunch they put up Black and Purple decorations for the King and I was left in charge of a class. After the class had finished the work set- there was still an hour so I tried playing games with them- some where a success -heads down thumbs up was not as they didn't understand to only squeeze one thumb.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The end of the dayThe end of the day
The end of the day

Waiting to go home
The view from the windowThe view from the window
The view from the window

I wouldn't mind staring out at this if I was bored at school as long as you look over rubish dumped just over the fence.


27th September 2006

video
Glad to see your vi - de - o experience has at last proved useful. We have started planning Lake Malawi week - anything particular you want us to include? Keep having a good time and take care, Lots of love Angela xxxxxx
26th November 2006

Man o man
O no I don't believe my eyes it is Tonga Side School I used to go there we moved to New Zealand in 2002 even though this is awesome the kids are still learning hahahahahahahaha well got to go if you took anymore pictures please e-mail it to me at et_rastafari2006@hotmail.com Thanks it would be much appreciated.
24th January 2007

hey
nice skool

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb