Never have I been...


Advertisement
Tonga's flag
Oceania » Tonga » Tongatapu
June 20th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Never have I been so comfortably happy to drive extremely slowly down a perfectly straight and decently paved rural road or to see a cockroach in my bathroom. Why do you ask? Because these are both things I associate with being in a nice warm island nation where time just goes a little slower.

So if you haven't guessed I'm in Tonga. Getting to the final legs of the trip. So far Tonga seems pretty good. I'm kinda really exhausted though, after awkward flight hours and being used to going to bed at 10pm. But today was good. I got into town and contacted Sitiveni (Steven), the builder whom Colin Philp recommended I contact out here. And, I found out that he's starting a build of a traditional 4 or 5 man canoe on Monday. So my timing couldn't be much better. Plus, he helped me buy a push bike, and agreed to purchase it from me when I leave as a gift for his son. The gear shift is a little funky and may need some tinkering, but otherwise I'm pretty happy. I have a feeling this nation is small enough so it can get me anywhere I need to go on this island.

I'm currently checked into this place called Sela's Guest House. I'm a little so so about it. People seem friendly enough, but the guidebook was totally wrong about costs and such, which is always disappointing. But I'm going to stay here for now since I get a killer exchange rate on the US dollar (2:1). Maybe I'll look into it more when I'm a bit less really tired.

So yea, first update in 6 months, lets hope they keep coming although I promise absolutely nothing!!!

Advertisement



4th July 2009

thanks for reminding me...
that i need to appreciate it when "time just goes a little slower" too... I've gotten really frustrated a couple times with Brazil when things just don't happen, or happen really late, or just don't make sense... but i guess in comparison to western capitalist-minded urgency and discipline, it can be nice...

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb