Background: The archipelago of "The Friendly Islands" was united into a Polynesian kingdom in 1845. It became a constitutional monarchy in 1875 and a British protectorate in 1900. Tonga acquired its independence in 1970 and became a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. It remains the only monarchy in the Pacific.

Blogs from Tongatapu

Latest Blog Posts from Tongatapu

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (; sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb