The Kokoda Challenge 2015


Advertisement
Papua New Guinea's flag
Oceania » Papua New Guinea
April 16th 2015
Published: May 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

100 years100 years100 years

The reason for the challenge

WHAT?




Big Al Fbro and Kbro (Kris) both take on a giant challenge in April 2015. The aim is to be at the ANZAC day dawn service at the WW2 battle ground of Isurava near Kokoda. The challenge is that we have to walk of 90 km through the most difficult terrain on the planet to get there.

WHEN?




The end of the trek will coincide with the Anzac Day events. the trek will commence on Friday 17th April 2015 and finish on 26 April.


WHY?



I have developed a keen interest for Australian Military history. As a young fella I served in the full time ADF (Regular Army) initially as a Sapper in the RAE then served in the SAS
kokodamapkokodamapkokodamap

That is a lot of hills
Regiment. Some time later I served a bit of "Choko" time with the Pilbara Regiment engaged in coastal surveillance operations in the northwest of Australia. (A total of about 17 years service) So I have done my fair share of lugging my house on my back through all kinds of terrain, however I recognize that this trip will test me.Since discharge I still had an interest in war history and what it meant to be an ANZAC so I started reading up on significant campaigns that earned the legendary reputation for the Aussie Digger. 10 years ago I was privileged to visit the place where it all started ANZAC Cove at Gallipoli for the dawn service to mark the 90th anniversary of the landings. As I walked every inch of the battle fields the stories that I had read about seemed to have a deeper meaning as could appreciate the difficulties faced from a tactical perspective. It is something that you just cant get from simply reading a book. You just have to be there to experience the significance of the sacred land that soaked up so much spilled Aussie blood.A couple of years ago I was again fortunate to travel down the infamous Thai / Burma railway and walk through the eerie Hellfire Pass cutting that was recently rediscovered in the Thai Jungle. The rail was built mainly by Aussie POWs at the hands of the cruel Japanese guards. Approx 120,000 POWs died during the construction and there are many fascinating stories behind the story. NOW, as ANZAC approaches its 100 years of fame it marks a very significant point in history. Whilst many want to be at Gallipoli to mark the event the fact is that there is simply not enough space to cater for any more than 20,000 pilgrims so you have to enter a raffle to win a ticket. (You can be assured however that there will be plenty of room for a huge gathering of shiny-arse politicians to get their photo opportunity. )
For several years now I have been talking about doing the Kokoda Trek and for one reason or another I keep finding excuses. Well it is now a reality!! I have finally decided that THIS IS THE YEAR! Partly because what better year to do it? The 100th year of ANZAC! And partly because coincidentally it is the year I turn 60. So there are two significant events in the same year. No-brainer really.

HOW?



When I started looking around for groups to do the Kokoda Trek I tried to offer my services to assist wounded diggers to do the trek. I felt with my military experience and current skills as a medic would be useful to assist someone in need. However I was rejected several times because they had more than enough helpers for the job.I then started looking at commercial tour operators and got a rude shock. The cost for holding your hand and keeping you company over a few mountains was astronomical. The prices ranged from $3,000 - $5,000 However that did not include airfares or accommodation. My immediate thought was "Ned Kelly is not dead." It seems that these tour operators have turned ANZAC into a handy way of making big bucks. Do the maths for a tour group of 20 trekkers. ( Yes it is about $100,000) It seems there is no law against it and they are still getting away with it.So on principle I decided to go it alone!!Consequently I am now the tour operator guide and I have just one trekker to accompany, my son Kris who is 30 years old and has just got back from a long stay in Berlin. Going alone will not be easy. The average punter that shells out the big bucks pays a local porter to carry their pack so that they can simply stroll down the track and enjoy the views. It seems to me that they are missing the point a little. To experience what the Aussie soldiers endured you have to do the trek with a similar weight on your back. (Soldiers typically carried 25kg as standard load) To claim that you have done the Kokoda Trek and in reality someone carried your pack the whole way and also cooked for you every night and even put up your tent. Are you serious?? It is like going camping in the outback in an air conditioned caravan with satellite TV. No thanks. If we are doing this trip it will be done the old fashioned way, with no outside help!! This means that we will be carrying 10 days of food with us along with all the tent gear and full medical kit and emergency communication kit and so on. The load we will be carrying will be 20 - 25kg each. Over those hills will not be an easy task. That is what it is all about isn't it??

OPENING OLD WOUNDS



When I was a serving paratrooper with the SAS Regiment back in 1985 I was involved in a night parachute jump into the PNG highlands. The Dobradurra drop zone was in the vicinity of Popendetta. Unfortunately on that occasion it was a very short visit to PNG for me because I suffered a severe fracture of my right leg on landing that night. It was an open spiral fracture of the right tibia and fibular (which means the bone was protruding through the leg as my lower leg was at a 90 degree angle to where it should have been) The recovery from injury took many years after orthopedic surgery to regain the strength again. So as I arrive at Popendetta on my homeward leg of the journey I will have a special memory for that fateful night so long ago now. So If I finish this trek it will be 30 years after I started it back then. Probably the longest trek in history.

PREPARATION



I hope we have done enough prep work, we will know soon enough. I have been busy running around Bali with the big backpack on my back with the Bali Hash House Harriers runs. It was a great way to test all the kit as the Jungle around Ubud Bali can be very hilly terrain and it is a perfect training ground.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb