I've arrived and taken on Auckland!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
December 22nd 2015
Published: December 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

It was really happening. Full of excitement and trepidation, I boarded the plane to Auckland. My home country for the next.....365 days!!! All of a sudden, it struck me, that I was really doing this. My mind shifting from chilled holiday mode to 'What am I going to do?', 'Where am I going to live?', 'Will I get work?', 'What have I done?', 'Will I be stopped by Customs?'. Expecting the worst and getting the best, I glided through Customs and was out the other end in no time, with no questions asked! I got the Airport Shuttle Bus into Auckland CBD and checked into the Hostel that came as part of my BUNAC Visa package for 2 nights. It was as expected! Awful and definitely not where I wanted to be. To aid my despair, luckily, I had the opportunity to upgrade to a private room. Still not ensuite, but better than sharing with up to five others. Here's the princess in me again! ? The hostel itself was located right in the centre, this being very handy, as I had an "Orientation Meeting" booked in two days time which was just opposite. With some time to calm down and reassess the situation, I caught up with Auckland itself, reminiscing about my previous trip everytime I passed an icon I recognised. I also grabbed myself an appropriate looking 'New Zealand Christmas' advent calendar just to remind myself that it was actually December and not July. The city seemed bigger than I recalled with far more people. I found a couple of places to partake in some food, my favorite in a little alleyway that served savoury GF crepes. Each table housing a small vase of fresh bright flowers illuminated in parts, with the streaming sun. It felt quaint, rustic and very european and not the other side of the world! It was a little haven, from the hustle and bustle off the main drag with only a few tables occupied. Whilst basking in the sun, on one of the two tables lit up, enjoying every mouthful of my lunch, I could over hear the conversation that was taking place. There's a table full of Irish, and there were Scottish tones I could detect from another. For one minute I questioned, had I actually left the UK and only dreamt about flying to NZ??? ? It was soon time for the meeting which was going to lay out everything I needed to essentially become a temporary resident. The women in the office were young, yet switched on and very helpful. Before I left that day, I had my new bank card for my ANZ account ready with some funds in. I'd applied for my tax number to be able to work and I'd sought out some advice on my CV. Not bad really considering I'd only been in the country about 50 hours!! Even better news, it was time to check out of the dreaded hostel and move out to an Auckland suburb where my AirBnB accommodation was located for the next two weeks. This had been a last minute booking just before I flew into NZ. I arrived there about 5pm. My host was very welcoming and her home very arty. My room was cute and sunny as described and there were two little dogs at the property, who were very excitable namely, Tullulah and Disco. That evening I spent sometime chatting to 'Jade' my host about my travels and what my rough plans were in New Zealand when she received an invitation to a local event for the following evening. Very thoughtfully, she invited me, to join her at the 'Sex Soiree!'. To which, I politely declined. It was most unfortunate, I'd left all my gear in Wales, so didn't have anything appropriate to wear!! ? To gain some control and steer the conversation in the right direction, I mentioned that I used to take a Sugarcraft course. This was not were I meant it to lead, as although I had declined the invite I was going to be roped into preparing some delightfully decorated cupcakes for zed event. Never in my life before now, have I.....wait for it! Sit down, finish and remove any hot liquids, as I guarantee this will make you laugh out loud! My, 'Vagina' sculpting skills, tested!!!!!! ??? At the very least, I was taken aback how I'd got myself into this predicament! Anyway, I'm not sure what it says about me, but my lips (the iced ones) did not pass muster with Jade, so I was demoted to adding the chocolate sprinkles (pubic hair) and the silver balls representing a 'Vajazzled' finish. Urban dictionary word that means 'to give the female genitals a sparkly makeover with crystals so as to enhance their appearance'. I must say, the finished look was in keeping with the brief but I was so relieved they were full of Gluten as I really didn't want to eat one!!! I escaped to the local supermarket to get some provisions for dinner, to avoid being asked again, to the event. I'm glad to report normality resumed over the next few days and in fairness Jade was a real inclusive and thoughtful host. My next invite was to a Christmas Craft Market pulled together by a group called 'Crafternoon Tea'. I really enjoyed this and left with a few goodies. Given, I'm still living out of a suitcase and I'm very practical I bought a small pair of earrings and a piece of natural food wrap with a New Zealand print on it. I thought it would be most handy for my sandwiches, as it should last up to a year! Over the next few days, I spent time editing my CV and deliberating whether I should apply for some House Sitting jobs or Wwoofing (Willing workers on organic farms) experience. My dream had been to persue some roles in a vineyard but many had already been taken and nearly all wanted previous experience. I would just have to try to get some of this, if and when an opportunity arose. I had signed up to the House Sitting Jobs website and had partially filled in my enrolment requirements when they had already started to send through a flavour of the jobs on offer. Unfortunately it appeared most houses came with Pets, predominently Cats and Dogs. Cats, I have a real horrible allergic reaction too and have always felt my reaction to Dogs was manageable until about Day 3 at Jades. I had started to suffer from itchy running eyes, tight chest, sneezing and was having to medicate with Antihistamines!!!! ? Oh well that put the nail in the coffin, to any House Sitting jobs. I had also taken a look at the Wwoofer's website and offered my services, as it were, before realising my issue with Dogs had gotten worse. Luckily, I wasn't getting much of a response. Going forward I now needed to apply caution with any having Cats, Dogs or Horses. This was beginning to prove a little more difficult than I'd imagined. I knew deep down I didn't want to stay around the Auckland area so wasn't keen on looking for work here. I had come up with a list of places in the North and South Island that I would like to be based for periods of time, at which point I intended to take on any roles offered. I hadn't given up completely on the Wwoofing but all this, not get anywhere fast was making me determined to look ahead and start planning out this year to make the most of my experience whilst in NZ. This was my opportunity to become creative and try all sorts........obviously up to a point.? The Christmas holidays fast approaching, I made the very hard decision to put "Work" on the back burner until the New Year and continue to concentrate my efforts on the "Travel" part of my Visa. At least with that part, I had recent experience on how to bring a plan together and that's exactly what I did. I knew which areas I really wanted to see in the North Island and luckily for me found a tour which covered most of these aswell as Christmas and the New Year. This way, I'd have company at least. Even better I discovered the Tour Leader would be the guy who had taken me around Western Australia, 'Duffman' and Krissie from the same trip, would also join me. It couldn't have come together better. It would start in Auckland, then migrate north to Bay of Islands before heading south and ending in Wellington just in time to see in the New Year with hopefully a new job to boot! The trip would start on the 23rd December so I arranged with Jade to stay on until then. It made more sense than trying to find somewhere else for the five day period I had nowhere to stay. Feeling alot chipper about the situation I headed into the city centre to sort out a phone as I would definitely require one if looking for real work when I got to Wellington. When I'd left that morning, it had looked a little overcast, although by the time I had sourced a phone, the sun was shining brightly so I decided to follow part of the 'Coast to Coast' pathway from the CBD to Mount Eden. The 360° panarama it produced did not disappoint given its a volcanic cone and the highest natural point in Auckland. The CBD dwarfed by the ever expanding suburbs. It was odd how insignificant it now looked and how small a footprint it actually took up. The wind bracing and refreshing after the short sharp climb to get there. I was surprised by the number of people at the top, only to realise they ran coach trips up there! If I'd known, I might have jumped on at the bottom. ? On my way back down I took a route that meandered through the undergrowth that covered it's sides before jumping on the train to head back for some food. I must have seen pretty good views of the surrounds, from the Sky Tower but my mind drew a blank. That evening I chilled out and caught up with Downton Abbey. I wasn't not enjoying my time here but I was definitely starting to miss my old life. The icing on the cake that enhanced my misery was that I'd used the last of my Yorkshire Tea! The worry of not finding work or not having a fixed, long term plan, I was really finding tough and was certainly out of my comfort zone. I just had to stay focused and realistic, that whatever happens it would still be an experience even if it mean't staying in a 20 bed dorm in a Hostel, picking fruit!!! Watching Downton was comforting and drew my attention away from my feared thoughts. I would just have to keep ploughing on. Over the next week I worked tirelessly on my CV, Cover Letters, LinkedIn Profile trying to make myself look employable. I sent it to a number of Agencies in Wellington stressing I was looking for a position in the New Year. Not forgetting that all work and no play makes 'Anna' a dull girl, I spent sometime on retail therapy because if I was going to work, I needed some suitable attire and footwear. Jade, my host, a few weeks previously had set a bag of clothes aside that she was getting rid of. Luckily for me, we are around the same size so scored some rather fantastic smart trousers/tops and a cardigan. I was mega chuffed and although my case was getting slightly too heavy, it was exactly what I needed. I wore my new cardigan that evening when we went out to a Mexican restaurant in the Ponsonby part of town. We were joined by Jade's friend Raissa and the traveller she had staying with her. Both were really lovely although Maiara spoke very little English. It was a fab little venue with some really tasty, Mexican Tapas dishes. It was packed when we got there and had a great buzz about it. The place dimly lit and decorated head to toe in mexican inspired murals. The food washed down with carafes of flavoured margaritas. After dinner Jade suggested we take a walk down 'Franklin Road' which was minutes away by foot. It was overwelming, enchanting and unique! All the posh villas a glow with Christmas lights. At home we mock those with this crassness and make fun of the 'Pull on the National Grid' they must have. Here it's a display of wealth and who obviously can use the most lights. Some were very tastefully done, others not so much, but it was just a wonderful thing to see and hear. Sporadically within the street, there were musicians playing Christmas jingles and sometimes choirs bursting out traditional songs. It really did feel like Christmas, was on its way. My favourite house of all, was one that had stayed true to their heritage by lighting their palm trees to resemble the symbol of the native red Christmas flower, Pohutukawa. Along with cleverly creating a full 3D lit up model of a Kiwi Bird. It was superb and very tasteful. Some houses should have remembered "less is more" but I guess it just added to the ambience although certainly not advisable to those prone to fitting!! I smiled everytime, I saw a snowman or something that just didn't work with their weather system. I loved seeing Santa in Sunnies and Shorts with Surfboard because it was different. I was the same when opening my Advent calendar, that hadn't dissapointed either with me having pictures of ice-cream, a sea shell and bucket and spade to name just a few interspered with the usual Christmas things. When the sun was out, it was very pleasant. So pleasant in fact, that the one day, I got tan marks when, to repay some of Jade's kindness what with the places she'd taken me, the treats she'd cooked and the clothes she'd given me, I offered to walk Tullulah and Disco, when Jade had some other stuff on. I'd taken them as far as the local Wetlands Park and was on my way back approaching their local haunt were I could leave them off ther leads when I encountered what I can only describe as a 'local nut'. A women who stood around six foot, with broad shoulders and long dark hair held out of her face with a fur headband rocking shorts and long stripped socks to the knees started ranting at me and the dogs. I usually pipe up but this one looked ferrel so we made a quick exit. By the time we got back they were both worn out and I was merely relieved. It was the dreaded breeze that made it feel cold for me and each evening the temperature plumeted. Ok, it was double figures but I wasn't used to it being so low. Most days it looked like the threat of rain but this dissapated and only chucked it down at night. Still a jacket or a cardigan was required most days. I still needed an appropriate pair of shoes for work as I only had Walking boots and Flip flops left. My nice pair met their demise after getting soaked through when it rained in Brisbane, so I'd binned them as I arrived in NZ. Purchasing shoes here however, was proving to be slightly more tricky as the sizes didn't seem to make any sense. When I asked in one store about how they equated to UK sizes, he responded 'The children's sizes are the same'! To which I responded 'I'm an adult!!! And they dont!' Cheeky little shit! Anyway, what I think he meant, is that my size, UK3/4, I would find more choice in the Children's section. Not finding any, in that particular shop, that were suitable I continued my quest which spanned about three shopping trips until I found a pair that met my requirements. They were not a gorgeous pair of shoes, but practical and smart enough for work and great to walk in. I even scored some soft slippers. Most importantly, both covered up my feet as they were beginning to freeze with the not so boiling summer temperatures of NZ and me having tramped about in my flip flops (I mean 'Jandals' derived from the words 'Japanese Sandal')! I suppose, if I'm going to stay a while, I need to learn some local terms, like 'Dairy' which is a convenience store. This was most confusing when I first arrived, seeing it on lots of corner shops and me thinking that's not a very big place to milk cows!!! 😊 My favourite is their use of our welsh word 'Bach' which means 'Holiday Home' and pronounced "batch". Lucky I'm here to re-educate! 😊 My wardrobe sorted, my traveller appearance next on the list. I got my hair cut whilst out shopping as conveniently there was one in the local shopping mall and I treated myself to an 'Eyebrow Shape' given Christmas and New Year were fast approaching. Apart from some CV rewrites and retail therapy I felt I hadn't really done much but I had enjoyed the more relaxed pace as it gave me chance to do 'normal things' like veg out in front of the TV. Although most channels were showing old British programmes like 'Call the Midwife','Grand Designs' and David Attenborough wildlife shows, which I'd seen before. Still it was a chance to switch off. I did watch a rather good film I enjoyed with Ian McKellen in called 'Holmes'. Nice easy watching based on Sherlock's later years. The other issue I had been desperately trying to sort was some accomodation in Wellington from the 1st January. I hadn't realised just how expensive it was out here to rent a room and there it was, the threat of a 'Hostel' life, still looming. Loathed to give up this soon, I held strong and kept looking exploring all angles. I still didn't have work lined up but was more hopeful of getting work after a second trip to the IEP Office to review the reworkings of my CV. My number one issue was fast becoming somewhere to stay. With all this stress piling up and me waiting to hear back from places I had contacted, I decided the best thing to do was take a trip to Mission Bay which resides east of the CBD and walk the coastal path back. Some sea air and great views would clear my mind and give me a renewed energy to continue my search a fresh. I began to feel recharged as the sun warmed my back and the sand, my feet whilst relaxing at this little beach. I even dipped my toes in the slightly chilled water and looked on, watching all the sport fanatics on their paddleboards and in their kayaks migrating back and forth across the bay. The dreaded wind picked up, so I took five in a cafe and enjoyed an amaretto coffee (medicinally to warm me up) before starting my walk back. This was what life was about and I was determined that NZ wasn't sending me packing just yet. I got back about 8 'o' clock that evening and Jade had very kindly made me dinner which I devoured. Milk and homemade chocolate and nut GF cookies followed which were simply divine. I couldn't have chosen any better accommodation and I had booked this last minute, so maybe there was a lesson in there somewhere. With only a week left staying around Auckland, I knew I had to start making the most of my time, to explore the areas of the North Island, that my up coming trip wouldn't. The 'Coromandel Peninsula' being one of them and a place not to be missed, by all accounts. This was so true! Me, Jade and the girls (Tullulah and Disco) took a day trip to this exquisite place. The day started with a fairly long journey, which we broke up with a stop at a little roadside cafe, were I scored a Chai Latte and GF toast for the bargain price of £3. ? Pleasantly refuelled we continued on our way, taking in the most, winding of roads, as they ran along the waters edge. The views expressing the sheer beauty of the place with me ooohing and arghhing at every turn. You could easily see why, here, was one of the top holiday spots. By the time we reached 'Coromandel Town' it was time for a refueling of a different kind in the form of a nice glass of red. The town itself was small and quaint with a few boutique shops. More sustanance was needed so a bag of chips and sauce followed. Not to go off point, but these were the worst chips I have ever eaten! There's hope for me losing a few pounds over here as I won't be ordering them again (unless desperate). ? Although I did eat the whole bag, just to be sure. It made me smile, that they even charged Jade for Vinegar!!!! So after being robbed blind for mediocre food, we travelled across the peninsula through thick tropical undulating bush. It felt like we were in 'Jurassic Park' with the large fern like structures interspersed with tall tropical palms. The canopy so densely populated covering every contour of the craggy mountain beneath. We were heading for 'Hahei' to walk down to 'Cathedral Cove'. It was a fairly short walk of about 40 minutes to reach what can only be described as, a picture postcard bay, which would not have looked out of place in Thailand. It encompassed this natural large cave formation which linked two beautiful sandy coves hence it's name. We spent some time relaxing in the sunshine on the warmed sand, with me admiring every inch of its sheer perfection. The 'girls' loving, playing in the waves and running the entire expanse of the beach, fetching sticks. We made our way back up the steep path to the car. It had been an amazing day but we weren't finished just yet. There was one more place to visit before heading home namely, 'Hot Water Beach'. This was about a 15 minute drive further up the coast where a hot water spring is situated on the beach area that is uncovered at low tide. So spade in hand, me and Jade headed towards the crowd of people, we could see gathered in this one area. Many small pools had been dug with people relaxing in the hot liquid as if they were in a Spa. It was great fun but care was needed, as some spots, the water was upto 60°C. Also those close to the tide needed to be well built up, as the sea was freezing and it drew the sandy walls away with it. My building skills not the best, I snuck into a few already dug out pools. ? This was just another wonder of nature that brought us pleasure. I'd had a fantastic time but unfortunately we needed to make a move but not before grabbing an ice cream. It had been a truly amazing day and one I would certainly remember with the possibility that I might return, before leaving NZ completely. The following day, I spent the morning trying to find living accommodation for when I arrived at Wellington. I'd seen an advert for a flatmate required in a large villa centrally located which housed eight people in total. I wanted a ready made family around me and this place looked exactly, like what I was after. I filled in the request and sent it off. That done I was free to join Jade on a trip to Point Chevalier beach. It was a spur of the moment plan as the wind had dropped today and the sun shone brightly. The heat warming every inch of my skin, I thought this might be the day, I take a dip in the sea. ? The beach was about 15 minutes away and when we got there it was obvious this place had its own micro climate. The clouds looked thick, grey and heavy with the sun well hidden as the wind whipped up around us. We were here now though, so we sucked it up, waiting for it to clear. It was a small stretch of sand edged with the calm lapping water which made this area perfect for swimming, although that ship had sailed for me as I was bloody freezing!? It did eventually open up and I dipped my toes. It wasn't as cold as I'd expected in fairness. The tide line interspersed with all sorts of shells gave way to a kind of dance before getting in the water, trying to avoid treading on anything sharp were a myriad of expletives would follow. Tullulah and Disco having a wail of a time as they were at the beach once again, with not a care in world with regards to the weather. We stayed a few hours to while away the afternoon. That evening it was bed early for me as I was off to Matamata the next morning for my 8:30am tour of Hobbiton. 5am kick off to get down there, the excitement bubbled inside. Raissa drove the scenic route to miss the morning traffic. The landscape reminiscent of home with rolling green hills and sheep dotted about the place. I was so looking forward and felt as if I was going to view some potential homes.? It did not dissapoint! The detail 'Peter Jackson' had gone too in creating this set was immense, with there being over forty Hobbit Hole facades created, with only three really used in the film. The detail down to the clothes on the lines, the real vegetable plot, and the creation of a complete fake oak tree was mind boggling. Everyone just wanted to live there, especially when we went to the 'Green Dragon Pub'. This has now been fully restored after the original, in the film was burnt down as part of the storyline. This building is beautifully thatched, with every detail perfectly in keeping with the surroundings, even down to their own alcoholic beverages on sales. For die hard fans, you can even hold your wedding here. What was really great about this tour, was it was, the first of the day, so we had clear shots of Bilbo's place, over looking the shire without any other tourists lurking. It was magical and you could see why he'd chosen this location. Situated in the middle of a very large sheep farm in the centre of the North Island inclusive of a lake, massive old Oak tree and lots of rolling hills. Before heading back we grabbed some lunch in Matamata town where the 'Tourist Information' or 'i-Site' as they call them out here, was in the "Hobbiton" style. This movie set having provided, no end of good, with regards to tourism in this area, as many continue to flock, to see a world they all want to be part of. Given I was on the hunt for a home, I was elated to find out my request had been accepted and I had my accommodation sorted for Wellington. I just hoped it wasn't going to turn into an episode of 'This Life'. ? The next morning there was the last Crafternoon Tea, Christmas Craft Market on and Jade had read, the first 30 entrants got a free goody bag so off we went for a last look. First in the queue we guaranteed our freebies. I also scored myself a GF Christmas Cake containing at least 10% booze ? and some funky bunting made out of maps of the world for my new home. I really loved craft fairs and taking in all the funky ideas people had created. Raissa joined us later that morning and the three of us grabbed some lunch in a nearby restaurant/bar. The weather today was incredible so we took lunch outside. Just look at me now, it was Saturday afternoon and I was back doing, ladies what lunch! Some things never change! Although, I did leave upright and coherent as we finished around an hour later, for us to grab some homemade Earl Grey Tea and Salted Caramel Ice-cream from a nearby stall to finish off. It was gorgeous with delicate flavours and melted at a rate of knots in the heat!!! Back at Jade's, I rummaged through my goody bag and found a Christmas polystyrene cone and some felt bobbles. Feeling all inspired by that morning's crafty creations, we spent the rest of the day constructing our very own 'Vintage Christmas Trees' inclusive of some of Jade's button collection. It was very relaxing, as it had been a while since I'd gotten creative. Sunday was soon upon me and not wanting to miss out, I decided I needed to visit at least one of the islands with transport links from Auckland. My decision, resulted in me tackling Rangitoto with it being one of the closest to get to. This island created about 600 years ago from many explosions that caused it to erupt out of the water making it the largest and latest addition to the Hauraki Gulf. It made for a fantastic place for me to explore by foot covering just over 8 miles (13km) in a landscape comprising of rugged lava crops, thick native bush and sandy coves. Rewarded with the most fantastic views from the summit, of the mainland and the other islands that make up this Gulf. I could clearly track the coastal path I had undertaken earlier that week from Mission Bay back to the CBD. The weather amazing with the sun shining and a cooling breeze made for a very enjoyable walk. The terrain difficult at times with it being loose volcanic material created from the many that had previously walked this path. Tucked away, some historical 'Baches' remain in three settlement areas on the island. These being private little holiday homes constructed in the early 1900s. One open as a museum allowed me to take a look at how they would have been set up since they didn't and still don't have any modern facilities like running water, electricity and sewerage control. Each 'Bach' is privately owned and can only be passed down to family members. A small number remain and are still used today, with many just having plaques to signify where they once stood. It was an interesting place to visit and for the most part, given the route I had chosen, I felt I had the island to myself as there was no-one around. I was a castaway! Although, I could still see Auckland. 😊 I was knackered when I returned and was glad to see my bed. Fully rested and fighting fit I had an exciting day of ironing ahead of me, to start sorting out my case for my upcoming tour. I was really looking forward to it but I was most excited about what my time would be like in Wellington, to have a home for at least two months if not longer. I had so enjoyed my time at Jade's although I never fully unpacked, I intended too, in Wellington. It had been a different experience to stay in one place for so long as over the last 7 months, 3 nights felt like I was putting down roots, given the pace of my trip. I still didn't have a job lined up in the New Year, ready for when I arrived but I was alot more positive that something would turn up. So far, from not having any sort of plan for my time in New Zealand, apart from the first two nights, I had managed in the last three weeks to sort out the next three months. This was to be my next chapter, real life in New Zealand which would start in January 2016. I had been through a roller coaster of emotions since arriving but felt resilient to stay as long as possible, but for that to happen, I needed to work, wanted to work and was finally, ready to work. Luckily that wouldn't be until the New Year. 😊 That evening Jade put on a Christmas style dinner for me, which was fabulous. We had succulent Sage Chicken, served with roast garlic, beetroot, pototoes, sweet pototoes, honeyed carrots, asparagus spears and Gravy. The house looked amazing and it felt really chrismassey. Even though we didn't eat until about 10:45pm, as Jade put the Chicken in the oven about 8:30. 😊 We had a great night, starting on the plonk as the first course, with both of us starving and abit merry when the dinner was eventually served. Tullulah and Disco loving the Chicken as much as us!! We completed the meal with the GF Christmas Cake that I'd bought and it did not dissapoint. Gifts then followed, with me getting somemore of the map bunting for my new room along with some lights and wait for it.....Salted Caramel Lindt Truffles!!!!! They were amazing, little balls of heaven, at which point I devoured the lot. 😊 Feeling festive, merry and full, I crashed at about 1:40am as what can only be descibed as the latest Christmas dinner I have ever eaten and my first New Zealand take on one!!!! Staying at Jade's had been lots of fun, even though right at the beginning I did question what I'd gotten myself into, what with those cakes and all!! 😉 My last day at Jade's, I chilled out making the most of the lovely weather from the deck area, before completing my packing in readiness for my Christmas and New Year Tour. My first three weeks of my year in New Zealand already completed!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 44


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb