A Magical Day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
September 24th 2014
Published: September 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

September 24

"The world is not in your books and maps, it’s out there!" – Gandalf



Today we entered a magical world and walked in the footsteps of Frodo, Bilbo and Gandalf. We went to the Shire in Hobbiton! I was concerned it might be a tourist trap, and … it was, and … it wasn’t. The price was a little much, but the experience for two dedicated LOR fans it was definitely worth it. We had ginger beer in the Green Dragon, walked under the Party Tree, and visited Bag End.

David and I had such fun here and took a slew of photos. It was so hard to choose which ones to use, so I made up a little story with them. It just seemed like the right thing to do.



"It’s a dangerous business, walking out one’s front door." – Gandalf



Our day ended with a bit of magic as well. David and I drove outside of Rotorua up to the Green and Blue lakes to a place with not a soul around. We turned off all the lights and stared at the stars. The Milky Way
Bag EndBag EndBag End

Home of Bilbo and his nephew, Frodo
was closer than I’ve ever seen it in my life, and the stars were beautiful. We attempted to find the Southern Cross, but even with an “app”, we could only guess. These were not our stars, and we are strangers in this magical land.



(No photos here. Some things you just need to experience as a photo wouldn't do it justice.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The ShireThe Shire
The Shire

Such a lovely place. I'd love to live here!
Nice neighbourhoodNice neighbourhood
Nice neighbourhood

I think we'll talk to the local real estate agent and see what the neighbourhood is like.
Idyllic Idyllic
Idyllic

Who wouldn't want to live here? Even a private lake.
The Baker's HoleThe Baker's Hole
The Baker's Hole

I hear he even does a gluten-free bread.
It's a small worldIt's a small world
It's a small world

We thought about buying this one, but David didn't quite fit.
The 'Party Tree'The 'Party Tree'
The 'Party Tree'

Local 'hot spot' on hot summer nights
My new 'Business' My new 'Business'
My new 'Business'

Great place to start a new business!
Friendly neighboursFriendly neighbours
Friendly neighbours

Sam & Rosie's Hobbit Hole
FishingFishing
Fishing

Private lake stocked with fish that are guaranteed to bite!
Boating opportuntiesBoating opportunties
Boating opportunties

Little round boats free of charge for residents
Fresh foodFresh food
Fresh food

Plenty of fresh produce at the local outdoor supermarket
Totally Upgraded Hobbit HoleTotally Upgraded Hobbit Hole
Totally Upgraded Hobbit Hole

Grass roof and garden totally re-grown last year!!
'Green' Hobbit Hole'Green' Hobbit Hole
'Green' Hobbit Hole

Eco friendly - thermal heating and glow worms for lights!
'Starter' Hobbit Holes'Starter' Hobbit Holes
'Starter' Hobbit Holes

Cozy hobbit holes that won't eat up all your carrots.
A Heritage HomeA Heritage Home
A Heritage Home

Required a bit too much work to fix up.
The Mill House from the bridgeThe Mill House from the bridge
The Mill House from the bridge

You can throw pennies into the water and make a wish. There's a wizard that will make them come true.
All the amenitiesAll the amenities
All the amenities

Lovely parks & pathways
Location, location, location!Location, location, location!
Location, location, location!

Property values likely to increase due to famous neighbors, Bilbo & Frodo living just up the path.
Home Sweet Hobbit HomeHome Sweet Hobbit Home
Home Sweet Hobbit Home

Matthew & Curtis sell the house!
Stop in for a pint or twoStop in for a pint or two
Stop in for a pint or two

Neighbourhood pub with a great atmosphere -- they even let you dance on the tables!!
Our new addressOur new address
Our new address

Pick either one. I'm sure the postman will get the right hole.
Cheers!Cheers!
Cheers!

Celebrating our new home (it's okay to dream a little.)


27th September 2014

What fun!
It's the kind of tourist place I'd like to go! (I'm a Hobbit fan!)
29th September 2014

Hobbiton fun
Hi Dave, You would have loved it! I felt just like a kid in a candy shop!
28th September 2014

It's a small world
Hi Lovies, I think this is our size Dave, I bet I know what Michele was wearing, her thermals. Looks like you two are having a great time. Love Judy and Mal
29th September 2014

It's a small, cool, windy world!
Yes, I think we could just dig a few extra rooms and move in together. And, of course, I'm wearing my thermals, they're all the rage! Love, Michele & David
28th September 2014

Gandalf quote
Or so true...the world is to be experienced...one country at a time. Enjoy the quiet and the stars. No photos needed.
29th September 2014

Wise words
Yes, we love taking the photos, but it's really "being" here that makes them come alive for us.
28th September 2014

Cute homes
I suspect they aren't dirt cheap, but, built for the right sized people!
29th September 2014

Lovely Little Places
"dirt cheap" -- very clever!
29th September 2014

What a lot of great photos, glad you are having such a good time.......Darlene
29th September 2014

So many great places to see!
Yes, Darlene, we are seeing and experiencing so many wonderful people and places. I think I'll need a month of rest just to get over my vacation! Looking forward to seeing you when I get back. Michele
30th September 2014

Laughed & Cried
I've just sat down to catch up on you adventure down under. We've been in Houston enjoying Jacob and had poor internet connection. Some of David's photo's brought tears to my eyes - they touch places in your soul you didn't know were there. I had no problem seeing you locked out of your room and trying to get David's attention - classic you! Now I changed to tears of hilarity! I'm not sure what price the boys listed the house for.
3rd October 2014

It's been a whirl wind!
We've been a little 'out of touch' too -- either not great computer connections or so many great connections with the people we've met that we don't get to the computer! I'm so far behind on the blog, but we're now in Wanaka for about a week & should get caught up. So glad you're enjoying the blog. David has been on top of the world taking photos -- don't know how we'll return to normal when we get home. (Glad we made you laugh & the crying is good if it touches the soul.)

Tot: 0.446s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb