DUNEDIN, NEW ZEALAND FROM THE M/S OOSTERDAM


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 22nd 2014
Published: February 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

DUNEDIN, NEW ZEALAND FROM M/S OOSTERDAM



There wasn’t any fog this morning. We were in Port Chalmers and needed a shuttle bus to Dunedin, about a 20 minute bus ride from the dock. The weather was good, a little cool in the shade, but very pleasant. Our bus took me to the center of town. I did another self tour with audio commentary and enjoyed the city very much. The center of town is known as “The Octagon” and the streets are lined with shops and restaurants. St. Paul’s Cathedral, Anglican, is prominent and a very impressive church. There are a couple of other impressive churches near city center, First Church of Otago, Presbyterian, and St. Joseph’s Cathedral, Roman Catholic. When I walked into First Church, a couple of kilted men were there and one played “Amazing Grace” on the bagpipe. St. Paul’s had an organ concert for the cruise boat passengers, but I missed it because I was on a brewery tour. I walked past Speight’s Brewery just in time for the one hour tour and product tasting after the tour. There were some gift shops specializing in New Zealand products and I spent some of my coins. The paper money I could change to Australian dollars on the boat, but not the coins. There is no paper money smaller than five dollars. I tried to spend the one and two dollar coins and smaller denomination coins. I was pretty successful, only 20 cents left over.



I’ve been on six straight port days and today was the last in New Zealand. It’s been great! I love the beauty and the people of New Zealand. Next stop is in four days at Hobart. I won’t be publishing blog entries until Hobart, but, hot off the press, our itinerary has been changed because of a storm brewing (50 mph winds and 21 foot seas forecasted) so the Captain decided to skip cruising the Fiordland National Park for our safety and comfort. I don’t object.



ILYS



TKB


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

THE RAILROAD STADIUMTHE RAILROAD STADIUM
THE RAILROAD STADIUM

VIEWED FROM THE OCTAGON
THE WAR MEMORIAL WINDOWTHE WAR MEMORIAL WINDOW
THE WAR MEMORIAL WINDOW

STAINED GLASS IN ST. PAUL'S CATHEDRAL
CAPTAIN COOK LIKED BEERCAPTAIN COOK LIKED BEER
CAPTAIN COOK LIKED BEER

FROM THE SPEIGHT'S BREWERY TOUR
BAGPIPER IN KILTSBAGPIPER IN KILTS
BAGPIPER IN KILTS

PLAYING AMAZING GRACE IN FIRST CHURCH


Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb