Quick trip "Home"


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
September 1st 2011
Published: November 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Recently, as I completed my 13 months in Korea, I went back to New Zealand and Australia for 10 days. This included 2 days travelling so was basically 3 days in Sydney and 5 days in New Zealand to see my family and all my close friends. Phew! It's always strange to go back after a long time away. The last time I traveled back after South America I had been so fully immersed in South American culture and the Spanish language I had trouble adapting again. This time I have been "foriegnisd", the "waigukin" for so long and kind of outside Korean culture. Though I'm sure I've picked up some more directness from being in Korea and perhaps a little more confidence It's always interesting to see how you change to the people who know you best.

First I landed in Sydney and went to my sister and cousins place. I was amazed by the clear, sharp sky and the interesting architecture and the glimpses of the sea and Harbor bridge I saw. My sister wasn't home so I hung at the local coffee shop with the Brazilian barristas chatting then met my cousin Elliot at the University for a pint. The next day I went walking round the city with my old Kiwi friend Anita and sister, looking at vintage shops, going to cafes, across the harbour. I loved how everyone had their own style and dressed uniquely in comparison to the Korean way, though it did bother me - the pretension of paying $300 to look like you're wearing a $30 sweater. Of going somewhere for tiny, expensive food just to be seen to be going there. I'd much rather enjoy fish and a glass of wine on the beach under the moonlight - which is what Edi and I did our last night.

Next I flew into Wellington, one of the few cities I think that will always keep a piece of my heart. It was a sunny, clear day and was so effortlessly beautiful everywhere I looked. I wrote a poem:
It beckons me with it's shimmering blue sheet
I am home, I know your charms
my other lover
who I must come to
But cannot stay with for long

I don't think I could live there again but had the best student years there and still when I visited Maranui cafe overlooking Lyall Bay I couldn't help remembering cycling over here as a student when it was a sunny summer day and studying by the seaside as I couldn't bear to be inside. I saw my friends Jenna, Cat, Liana and Maria and had fantastic chats over coffee, gelato and (good) beer! Some are growing up faster than others or than me. Jenna is getting married soon but still as much fun as ever and we still have that bond. Later, I went back to my home town which ironically does not and could never feel like home! Had a peaceful couple of days with my grandparents and two sisters and new nephew - Lucas. Was nice to relax with them and have a simple time.

I had mixed feelings about coming back to Korea as was having the best time with my friends, the weather was gorgeous and we had had a fun friday night out in town wi


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.65s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb