Good Bye New Zealand (it has been good)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
March 7th 2005
Published: March 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Me at Tunnel BeachMe at Tunnel BeachMe at Tunnel Beach

Tunnel Beach, NZ close to sunset
Well the end of my New Zealand trip has finally approached. And it is easy to say that this is the most beautiful place that I have ever been. New Zealand is everything you have heard of and more.

Things have been pretty much the same since my last update. Tobias and I continued to work our way around the southern island in our trusty stead "Bill". We camped, and tramped, snuck into hostels to cook and clean, did a little fishing and other things. It rained a little more this time, which means we slept in the car more often...including last night...and to tell the truth, sleeping with Bill (the car) is starting to get more and more comfortable (a few beers makes things even better).

Last night Tobias and I were hoping to sleep on the coaches of a pretty big hostel here in town...thinking that no one would notice. Well around 1am they did, and we got shown the front door...but that’s ok. It is kind of fun trying stuff like that out every now and again.

We went to the world reknown Milford Sound the other day. And it rained and rained and rained...we
Tunnel Beach at sunsetTunnel Beach at sunsetTunnel Beach at sunset

Tunnel Beach at sunset
where there for about 35 hours and it rained extremely hard the whole time. Which sucked because we really wanted to go sea kayaking..but on the up hand; we got to see 1000's of waterfalls. All along the drive to Milford the road is surrounded by huge cliffs...and when it rains these cliffs turn into waterfalls.

While I was in Queenstown I signed up for Skydiving, and was really excited..but the weather made a turn for the worse and it got cancelled..so at the last minute I tried to join the bungee jumping group (I think it is the highest bungee in the world..147 meters) but they were full too. Funny thing is, I bought the t-shirt that said i jumped...before I actually got to jump...so I’ll just have to pretend.

Well tomorrow I am leaving for Sydney and then Singapore. Hopefully I will be in Asia in a few days. I have had hella-problems with those tickets so keep your fingers crossed.

-Chris

(and an xoxo for jen)



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Nugget PointNugget Point
Nugget Point

Nugget Point Lighthouse
SheepSheep
Sheep

a local
barb wirebarb wire
barb wire

trying to get fancy with the camera
Milford sound Milford sound
Milford sound

on the way to Milford Sound
Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

at night (it rained and rained and rained..ie I slept in the car)
Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

falls (just a few of the 1000's that where around)
South PointSouth Point
South Point

closest I'll ever be to Antartica (most southern pt in NZ)
meme
me

at the Nugget Point Light house
Nugget Pt.Nugget Pt.
Nugget Pt.

more from nugget pt.
Nugget Pt.Nugget Pt.
Nugget Pt.

one more from nugget point (as you can tell I liked it here)
MeMe
Me

in the car...just messing around
RainbowRainbow
Rainbow

Rainbow
FlowerFlower
Flower

here is one for you jen =) xox
LakeLake
Lake

A reflective lake on the drive to Southern South NZ
SheepSheep
Sheep

"when in Rome..."
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sunset over the hills
Tunnel BeachTunnel Beach
Tunnel Beach

Tunnel Beach
photophoto
photo

just a nice pic
RiverRiver
River

We tried to help these guys who got stranded...but they said they were "ok"...hmm


7th March 2005

Chris, Once again your photos continually amaze me. They really capture New Zealand. Good lyck as you travel to Asia. Just keep your spirits up and "what will be, will be" - Mom
7th March 2005

cool!
Chris- your pics are so amazing... you just might get some space at the Whitney and Schwalm booth at the craft fair! Shout back at ya- Jen P.S. Lisa- I'm looking forward to your travel blog!
8th March 2005

Hi Chris, London was great, we're in Scotland now, so far so great! Loving the pubs and the beer! Jen, just you wait till I get back to school, you just might have your Blog! Love you Chris! Lisa - Lisa
10th March 2005

Missed you by (-) that much!!!
I was sending you an email two doors down while you were leaving your message. Sorry Harley and I missed ya. Peace. - Jon S
10th March 2005

Hey Chris
Missed you by (-) that much. I was sending you an email at almost exactly the same timew you were checking my room. Great connecting with you on your journey. Perhaps our roads will cross again. Keep up the excellent photos. There may be a future in that for you as well. - Jon

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 132; dbt: 0.1668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb