Day 250- 253 / 250.- 253 Den ( 07.- 10. 10. 2008)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
October 17th 2008
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I did get close to the Slope point which is the most southern point of NZ, however I could not go for a walk… due to lambing, ohh well never mind I do chose my time well…however after finding a nice free camp site I was rather happy with myself. When I was leaving the next morning I saw an abounded lamb on the side of the road… another rescue?!…I stopped … the mum was nowhere to be seen… as I spoke to ‘Bobo’ he really responded to my voice and came to me and thought I had some milk for him, I felt really touched and thought I can’t leave you here, you are doing to die… so I took him to the paddock in hope of finding his mum, he followed me around… but no sheep wanted him, he was crying and so was I, I know I am a big softie, anyway… I knew I could not really take him… not sure how Cameron would react if I brought a lamp back to Dargaville, last time I brought a dog, which is not that bad, but a lamb… I had no choice but to leave Bobo there and hope he will get rescued by the farmer, when I drove further down the road I saw farmers in other paddock and told them about Bobo, so hopefully he is doing fine now..
I did not have any plans as to what I wanted to see, after Milford I was so happy, so I decided to just drive around and see what I could; I had plenty of time before I had to return Alfred. So I took it really easy and drove on the little roads, went to Curio Bay, Nugget point - where as I came to the Pingu hideaway I saw one coming out of the water, they have the funniest walk, it remined me of my friend Eva from Germany who I met in Yellow Submarine in OZ. When she was drunk she would impersonate penguins walk - it was rather funny… anyway back to Nugget Point, to me it was really special to see penguins in the wild and even though it was absolutely freezing, wet and windy it was still an amazing moment. I also saw some seals having fun down on the cliffs. I needed to find a place to sleep for the night, I was trying to find a nice place to park, however somehow it was not happening, in the end I ended up pulling onto a little dirt path off the main road and parked Alfred on the side of the road, as I went to bed it was still raining and I wondered will I be able to get out in the morning….
.. . surely as morning comes I had problems, and the result, well I got Alfred stuck in the mud up to the rim of the wheel…. F…lip, what now… try some branches…. nope …that did not work, ok… some gravel under the wheel, …well I have to dig it out first… man I wish I had shovel…. Oh well spoon and cup will have to do… and my hands… but I managed to get Alfred out….without help … I was very proud of myself, never mind that I got him stuck in a first place. The rest of the day I was very cautious if not paranoid of where I parked…
I started to make my way back up towards Christchurch. I went to Dunedin, and to the Otago Peninsula, where I understood where Alfred Hitchcock got his idea for the horror - Birds…. Albatross colony…man it was like the horror… so many birds, mainly seagulls, but I saw some Albatross too…
I thought to myself what now, is there really much more I want to see…I saw the penguin, seals, Milford, caught a fish, went on Para-flight, Shotover-jet, got Alfred stuck, that should do for Kiwi experience in Xdays.. OK so I aimed for Christchurch by the same night, where I can have rest at Paul’s... (Guy I met at Annice’s Party)…
In Palmerston I picked up a hitchhiker, as soon as he open the door and said where he’s heading I knew he was German… when he said his name’s Andreas I said: “You wouldn’t be the same Andreas that I was trying to meet back in Rotorua, would you?”… Surely he was, how random, so we met at last… He was heading for Mount Cook, and for a second it crossed my mind I could go with him, but then I was pretty tired and it was just another mountain… so I headed to Christchurch as planed and picked up another hitchhiker Lyle, who I had a really good chat with and he needed to get to Christchurch too…. After getting lost in the city I managed to get to Paul’s and had two chilling days of not doing much just recharging my batteries…


No a cesky jsem to uz nestihla, takze bud si procvicte Anglictinu, nebo Vam to budu muset povykladat.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb