Roadtrip with mama


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
December 13th 2017
Published: January 27th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Kia Ora, sorry that I didn't write any blog entries but I was busy and when I had the time I did different things.
So my mum came over to visit me. It was really nice.
Before she came I hadn't had a shower for a week. I was only washing in the lake in Wanaka or at the river near the campground.
When my mother was here we were living in hotels and I could take a shower every day. It felt really weird to take a shower without having a time restriction.
On the first day we went to the grocery shop and we spent more money for food for 2 days than I spent for food for 2 weeks. I got a smoothie and I was so grateful for it. It sounds stupid but I hadn't been drinking anything else than water for 3 month because I didn't have the money to afford juice or something else. It is weird how habits can change. On my journey here I realised that I was so spoiled and that I took everything for granted. I now know the value of everything and I really enjoyed every little thing my mother bought me.
So now about our trip: we travelled the southern part of the South Island. She arrived in Christchurch, we then drove to Dunedin, the Catlins and took the ferry from Bluff to the Stewart Island and spent 2 nights there. It is such a beautiful island full of birds. I did a kiwi tour there but couldn't see any...
Once back on the mainland we drove to Te Anau and did a cruise in the Milford Sounds. After that we drove to Queenstown and stayed in a hotel with spa. It felt so good to sit in a hammam and just relax. We also had a breathtaking view from our balcony and laying in the bed you could see the mountains outside. I just loved that hotel, even if it was weird to arrive there with my 20 yo. car that does weird noises. It was parked between a big water fountain and big Mercedes...
After Queenstown we went to lake Tekapo and finally to Akaroa.
Even though my mother and I argued about some stupid stuff sometimes, I was really happy to have her by my side during two weeks. We had some really fun moments and laughed a lot.
I am looking forward to hold her in my arms again and get cuddles from her. I will always stay her little girl, it doesn't matter how old I am.

Aroha (love)

Adela


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement






Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb