Celebrating my birthday at Sea


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 3rd 2017
Published: October 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

THE DEPARTURE:
On Tuesday, 3rd January 2017, we boarded the Dawn Princess cruise ship at Sydney’s white bay wharf for two weeks of fun in New Zealand to celebrate my birthday. Before this date ‘we were the only ones in my family who has never been to New Zealand,’ and although I got sea sick twice; I absolutely loved it! The rush to get everything ready for the departure started as soon as we woke up that morning, and it was literally ‘go, go, go’ but we able to board the ship in time for lunch and to look around before the life boat drill took place prior to the departure.

Our friend (Wend Grace) arrived at our place at 11:30am to look after the house for us, and mum went through everything she needed to do while we were away. Once she unpacked her car, Wendy drove us to White Bay Wharf in Sydney. We arrived at the Wharf at approximately 1pm, and this time ‘our boarding was much more easier.’ We could board the ship as soon as we were checked in, and we didn’t have to wait for our luggage because it was waiting for us outside our cabin.

Once on board we found our cabin, and had lunch in the Horizon food court before being called back to our cabin to collect our life jackets, and head to our Master Station for the ships life boat drill which is required by law for any passenger going international waters. Once the lifeboat drill was finished, we were allowed to leave our master station, and return to our cabins to put our life jackets back. This was when our cruise holiday officially began because we were able to start our cruise, and get ready for the ships departure to New Zealand.

Shortly after the ship went through Sydney heads, it was time for us to get ready for our first dinner seating in the Venetian dinning room (the same one as our first cruise) where we met the people in our new dinner group for the cruise, and enjoyed a yummy meal before going to the Princess Theatre for the first ‘Show Time performance.’

OUR FIRST SEA DAY:
I wasn’t use to being on a cruise ship as its been two years so I didn’t really sleep very well that night, and we lost an hour due to a time change so I woke up at around 7am feeling very sleepy. We enjoyed a yummy breakfast in the Venetian dinning room before separating, and doing our own thing. I went to deck twelve (the pool deck) to watch the movie ‘finding dory,’ and mum went to the first New Zealand information session at the Princess Theatre.

During the movie, I went swimming in the ships pool. I love swimming in the ships pools because they have handle bars around the edge. What you do when the ships rocking is ‘you get in the pool is hold onto the handle bars, let yourself go, and enjoy the ride.’ Its the best way to ‘swim in the Pacific ocean... without actually swimming in the Pacific ocean.’ I kept going ‘wahoo’ because I absolutely loved it, and check this out ‘there was a life guard close by and he came to the pool because he heard me yelling only to find out ‘I was actually ok, and having fun!

I then met mum in the cabin for lunch in the Horizon food court where we met up with some friends from our table. We then went our separate ways once again. I went to the ‘Beginners Photography class at Jammers,’ and mum back to the cabin. When the class ended I went to deck twelve for the one hour ‘Bon Jovi concert’ which played on the big screens. This was followed by ‘a line dancing with mum in the Vista lounge.’ When the class ended, we returned to our cabin to get ready for dinner, and the Showtime performance in the Princess Theatre before going to the Jammers night club; only to find out ‘the music they played there that night was actually ‘from mums error’ so I left Jammers and returned to the cabin for the night.

OUR SECOND SEA DAY:
We woke up to a room service breakfast at 8:30am before getting ready for the day. As well as enjoying a room serviced Breakfast; the first thing we did every morning was turn on the Television, and watch the 'Wake Show' (also known as the 'Ships Morning show'). Not only did people send in jokes every morning; for the Cruise Director, and the Assistant Cruise Director to read out on the air; there was also two anonymous passengers who kept sending in a 'Chocolate treat' for the team to enjoy everyday, and the couple eventually became known as 'the Chocolate Fairy!' The anonymous couple wrote a different name on the form everyday but the two hosts knew it was the same couple because 'they entered the same cabin number!'

There wasn’t really much for us to do so we pretty much spent the day enjoying the ship. I went to the advanced Photography course at Jammers while mum did her own thing. When the class ended, I went looking for mum but I couldn’t find her anywhere so I went to deck twelve (the pool deck) for a swim, and to enjoy the ships ‘cocktail drink of the day’ which was 'the Ultimate Cooler!' I then got a bit lost on the ship, but it wasn't as bad as my first cruise because I knew my way around the ship. When I finally found mum, it was time for lunch so we went to the Pizzeria to eat. Princess Cruises must’ve got my email because ‘both the service, and the food itself has improved since my last cruise.’ Mum and I are both ‘captain circle members’ and we received an invitation from the cabin (through our room steward) to attend a members only party in the Princess Theatre before getting ready for the first Formal Night. Our invitation entered us into the ‘membership prize draw,’ but we weren’t really impressed by the performance because there wasn’t much to it, and (being captain circle members) we naturally thought it included a visit from the ships Captain himself so we were a bit disappointed by that.

FIORDLANDS SCENIC CRUISING, NEW ZEALAND:
We woke up with a room service breakfast at 6:30am as the ship was slowly arriving at Fiordlands. I started feeling a bit sea sick the day before, and although we weren’t getting off the ship; I was glad the ship was going slowly. I actually feeling good when I woke up that morning; but I started feeling sea sick once again because of all the running around I did that day! I’m an amateur photographer, and although I had my cameras with me; I was surprised at how many people had their tripods with them, and if I knew I could bring my tripod with me, I would’ve done so. I’m also glad I had my ‘AFL Swans Jacket’ with me for the cruise because the weather for the day was ‘overcast with showers, and 11 degrees’... brrrr!

The Fiordland National Park in New Zealand contains approximately five sounds (or scenic routs), and cruise ships can only go through four of them as the first one is a bit too narrow for ships go through. Just before the ship went through (Milford) the first sound; a tour guide boarded the ship via a tender boat for the day. Prior to going through each sound, the tour guide spoke to us from the captains bridge and told us many things about each one.

PORT CHALMERS (DUNEDIN), NEW ZEALAND:
We woke up at 6:30am with a room serviced breakfast, and on the 'Wake Show (which was shown on the ships televisions) I heard this pretty good joke 'What do you say to your Grand Dad when he falls into the water? Paddle Pop!' To me, that joke is both 'funny and stupid at the same time!' It was an early start because the shore excursion we were on that day started at 8pm. As soon as we were ready, mum and I left our cabin and went to the Princess Theatre where we signed in and met our shore excursion group. We didn't have to wait very long for our group to be called to Disembark from the ship, and our tour train was waiting for us at the wharf.

When we got through customs, we boarded the Dunedin train which was waiting for us at the wharf. The excursion went for several hours, and the Mountain train crossed over 'high rise bridges including one which was so steep and narrow;' one false move, and you would have a very very long time to wave goodbye! The train also went through approximately 'fourteen tunnels... some tunnels only had room for the train so you wouldn't want to stick your arm out of the train because you'd loose it!

I actually heard about this shore excursion on the Australian television show 'Get Away,' and I absolutely loved it. Lunch was served on the train. We stopped at two train stations along the way before turning around at the end of the line, and returning back to the ship.

At the main train station half of the passengers stayed went back to the wharf with the train, and (like mum and I) the other half got off the train for the second part of our excursion at the 'Lauchain Scottish Castle' before re boarding the bus, and returning back to the ship. On our way back to the ship the bus we were on took a de--tour. We stopped at 'Baldwin Street.' The street is unique because it's known as 'the worlds steepest street!' During our one hour stop over, (those who were interested) got off the bus, took photos and even attempted to climb up it. A car (containing two young ladies) entered the street. They were able to successfully drive the car up the very steep hill, before turning around, and coming back down 'slowly!'

I think the two girls were dared to do it because I saw them laughing when they returned to the main street. But that's not all Baldwin Street is famous for. Every year, a huge Jaffa race takes place. The chocolates are driven up the street in trucks, poured out at the top, and it takes only a few minuets to roll down the hill. Numbers are painted on every Jaffa which were created especially for the event, and the number each person pulls out is that personas entry in the race. The first three Jaffa's that make it down the hill first wins, and the people who pulled those numbers out of the hat wins a prize. In the past, the locals had to worry about the clean up after the race but these days 'kids come along and eat the giant Jaffa's off the ground... yuck!

When we got back to the ship, I went to the top deck and got myself a drink for the departure. I took some more photos before my batteries went flat, and got blasted several times by the ships horn. It was so loud, and I couldn't stop laughing because sticking my fingers in my ears didn't help!

AKAORA (CHRISTCHURCH), NEW ZEALAND:
It was an early start for our shore excursion that day so we woke up at 6:30am with a room serviced breakfast before getting ready to meet our tour group in the Princess Theatre for Disembarkation. When our group was called; we left the Princess theatre. and went to deck three our passenger card got scanned, before boarding a tender (or life) boat; which took us to the main land where we met our tour bus for the day.

Our shore excursion took place at the 'International Antarctic Centre;' but we took a detour through 'Christchurch (where the earth quake took place many years ago). The bus stopped there for an hour, and a half and those who wanted to get off the bus were given the freedom to do so. Although I wasn't in New Zealand on the day the tragedy happened; I'm still getting over the news so if I knew 'we were stopping at Christchurch' before hand, I wouldn't have got off the bus.... but I did, and I was able to face my fears! We all got off the bus, and enjoyed a yummy lunch before going sight seeing, and did some souvenir shopping before re-boarding the bus.

The time soon came for us to re-board the bus and continue our trip to the 'International Antarctic Centre;' where we went into this freezer room, and experienced an 'Antarctic storm' at -8 degrees (which is the warmest), and enjoyed a rocky track ride before returning to the ship in time for the departure. The scenery from the ship was absolutely beautiful, and I was able to take heaps of photos as the ship departed for the next port. That night, I enjoyed an Operatic performance from Miranda (the assistant cruise director) in the Vista lounge where I also enjoyed my first 'Pina Colada;' while mum went to the Princess Theatre for that nights 'Show Time performance.' When the performance ended, I went up to (a freezing cold) deck twelve for the late session of 'Movies under the stars.' Although it was a good movie, it was long before I left the deck and returned to my cabin for the night.

WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND:
Once again, we woke up at 6:30 am for our day in Wellington (the windy city); located in New Zealand's North Island. We left our cabin after enjoying a room serviced breakfast, and went to the Princess Theatre where we met our tour group for the day. When our group number was called; we left the ship, and entered Wellingtons International cruise ship terminal where our small bus was waiting for us outside the Terminal.

The driver took our group to several places including: 'Mount Victoria, and the Museum where our main tour took place. We learnt several things about the Maori culture (including: 'the word 'Maori' in English actually means 'similar or the same as.' The Museum's Tour guide (or Docent) had a fantastic personality, and I absolutely loved every moment of it. When the tour ended, we re boarded the small bus and went to Wellington City where we boarded the 'Scenic Train' to the top of a very steep mountain. When we reached the top, we enjoyed an amazing view of the city, and took photos before meeting the bus, and returning back to the bus. When we got off the bus we didn't go back to the ship immediately. Instead we had lunch at a local MacDonalds, and did some shopping in town before returning to the ship.

I had to get a new passenger card when we got back on board because I couldn't get into my cabin. I learnt an important lesson that day, 'your IPHONE will wipe your passenger card if they're together. We got back to the ship at 1:30pm, and went swimming in the Lido deck because it was a hot day. I then returned back to the cabin where mum was sleeping with a movie playing on the rooms TV. After a nap, we got ready for dinner in the dinning room. When we finished eating; the people we sat with at our table went (as a group) to the Vista Lounge for the country and western theme night. When the show ended, I left the Vista Lounge and went to 'Jammers Night Club' to dance the night away before returning to the cabin for the night.

TAURANGA, NEW ZEALAND:
We woke up at 6:30am with Breakfast in bed and got ready for the day. We then went to the Princess Theatre (our usual meeting place) to sign in for our shore excursion, and to disembark from the ship for our 'cultural shore excursion.' Once off the ship; we boarded the tour bus which took us for a ride through Tauranga before taking us to the 'sheep dog trials' at the Argadome, before going to the Te Pula Maori theme park for lunch, a tour, and a cultural performance before re-boarding the bus and going for a drive through Tauranga before returning to the ship. During the drive, we drove near a town named 'Whakatarne' and took a photo of the sign as a keep sake that the place actually exists! I did that because I originally heard about the place on the tv show 'Rove Live,' and I had to go see it for myself before returning to the ship.

When we returned to the ship we dropped our things off at the our cabin before to deck fourteen for the departure and to have our photo taken by the ships photographer. Before this took place, mum and I made a bet that 'the Dawn wouldn't blast its horn on departure' (which it did), and I made the bet about 'which direction the ship was going to go for the departure.' The conclusion was 'we were both wrong!' A Photographer was close by and we called him over to have our photo taken on the deck. Just before he took our first photo the ship blasted the horn and I went 'yay' which made the photographer laugh!

We then went our separate ways; mum went to dinner with our group at the Dinning room, and I remained on the deck for the early session of 'movies under the stars' before meeting up at the Princess Theatre for the show time performance. Mum then returned to the cabin, and me (being a party animal) danced the night away at Jammers Night Club before returning to the cabin for the night.

AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND:
This was the only day we DIDN’T have breakfast delivered to our cabin. Although we woke up early (at 6:30am) for our Shore Excursion; 'we discovered the ship was already docked in Auckland, and I missed the blessed event of being able to watch the ship arriving port.

Now excursion wise; we were originally going to 'explore a glow worm cave' but we cancelled that excursion at the last minute through Princess Cruises, and decided to explore Auckland on our own that day. We didn't have anything else planned for the day so we decided to explore Auckland on our own. We were already dressed when our room serviced breakfast finally arrived with an apology. When we finished eating, mum and I left the cabin, disembarked from the ship. That day, four hundred people got off the ship in Auckland, and we welcomed the four hundred new passengers on board with an 'Ultimate Deck Party' which took place that night on the top two decks of the ship.

After going through customs, we purchased the all day bus ticket known as the, "Auckland Explorer hop on hop off ticket,' and we took advantage of it. The bus took us to about nine (optional) stops before returning to the ship. we visited: 'an Auckland City viewing spot, a local flower garden (where we met up with some friends from our table), and a local green house garden (where I saw the biggest bunch of sunflowers I've ever seen in my life.' We then went to a cafe in the park where we had lunch, and fed the sparrows before walking around the grounds; where we encountered a 'wild goose' which (from a distance) looked like a Swan. Our fun soon ended, we returned to the bus stop in time to catch the bus to our next location. We then got off the bus just outside 'the Auckland Sky Tower;' where we met up with some friends from our table who was doing the same thing we did and spent the rest of the afternoon with them.

Shortly after getting off the bus, we all got fright of our lives when we saw a someone come down, and land on the Sky Towers landing area which scared the crap out of me. We quickly looked up, and saw a balcony at the top of the Sky Tower. Apparently, serious thrill seekers pay a lot of money to jump off the Auckland Sky Tower in a controlled environment.. I say 'controlled' because the people who do it are connected to cables. No, I didn't do it because it was too high so don't get excited; but I did enjoy watching the people jump and this is what went through my mind, "too bad if the cables break!" The time eventually came for us to leave the Sky Tower and return to the ship. Unlike the thrill seekers; we took the lift (or the elevator) down to the ground floor. When we got out side, we continued watching the Sky Tower thrill seekers from the ground up. We had plenty of time to do so because our bus was late, and it made me think 'Oh no, the ship is going to take off without us because Princess Cruises don't know where we are.' I eventually stopped worrying when I saw other Princess Cruises passengers arrive at the Bus stop, and I was relieved when I finally saw the bus come around the corner.

It was a hot day so as soon as I got back to the ship, I went to the cabin to get my Swimmers. I then went for a swim in the pools, and the Spas on deck twelve before returning to the cabin to get ready for dinner, and to prepare the 'Ultimate Deck Party.' I almost didn't go because my first Deck Party in 2014 wasn't positive experience for me; 'the music was all 'pre-recorded,' the dances were all routines the ships crew made up, and everyone who saw me that night treated me like a 'special needs person' for the rest of the cruise because of how I danced (on my own) at the party, etc.' I even tried to stand up for myself when I told two girls (who invited me to the Jammers Night Club to make fun of me), 'I've had dance training' but it didn't work. They just held it against me, and said, "Well, that explains it!"

I was actually happy not to go to the 2017's Ultimate Deck Party but I'm glad I did, because it was a positive experience this time. There was a live band, they did a 'Cogo line' (but it wasn't announced), and there was more freedom to dance the way you wanted, and no one held it against you.' During the party, some of the ships crew invited me to dance with them which was amazing, and two girls created their own line dance routine to one of the songs. It was an easy routine so I joined in, and high five ed them afterwards. The time eventually came for the band to take a break, and the assistant cruise director (who taught us Line Dancing on the first day of the cruise) came up on stage, and led us in a 'Line Dancing routine.' When the band returned to the stage, they played the hit Village People song, 'YMCA.' It's a popular dance routine, and everyone knows it so we all did it like a 'Flash Mob!' My final shore excursion took place the next day so the time eventually came for me to return to the cabin for the night, and naturally if we didn't have a shore excursion planed 'i would've stayed longer' because i was having a good time. That night, I didn't get to bed until 12:30 am. We had an early start the next day so I didn't really sleep very well that night because of all the fun I had at the deck party.

THE BAY OF ISLANDS, NEW ZEALAND:
We woke up at 6am to a beautiful sunrise which we saw from our balcony, and for our final day in New Zealand before returning back to Sydney. We had to wake up early because our shore excursion to a traditional Maori village started at 7:30am. I'm naturally a 'night person' so I'm not really use to waking up at that time of morning, and I was sleepy for most of the excision... especially when we stopped!

Our shore excursion that day really was a cultural experience because we were able to experience the life of a Maori, and our tour guide belonged to the Maori tribe we visited in the Bay of Islands; he allowed us to experience the culture first hand. The bus we were on took a detour during our drive to the village. We stopped by one of the Bays where we took photos, and learnt a bit more about the Bay of Islands before going for a walk through the 'Manginangina Kauri Forest Walk.' When we got back on the bus, our Maori tour guide spoke a greeting to us in the traditional Maori language before translating it into English. I really enjoyed this part of the shore excursion because I always love hearing people talking in their native language when I'm in another country.

We were just around the corner when our tour guide told us what to prepare for. He then asked us to 'nominate our own Australian tribal leader for the day.' A large man was sitting up the back of the bus, and I dobbed him in because he looked like a 'tough tribal leader!' We had to stay together when we finally arrived at the village, if we had to go to the bathroom we had to go together as a group, and come back the same way we went, and we had to wait with the bus until the tribal leader came to take us inside the building where the shore excision continued.

The women followed the men into the building as part of their culture, and we were asked to take our shoes off before entering the building as a form of respect to their tribe. Once inside, we had to stand at the back of the room (where all their god's were displayed in statue form), and gave a moment of silence for our past ancestors before following the men around to the entrance of the building where we greeted the locals by 'tapping our noses together and saying, "Kiaora (which is Maori for 'Hello'), I'm from Australia!" This was then followed by their greeting to us and then our greeting to them in song form which was 'Waltzing Matilda.' Our tribal leader for the day then stood up and gave a speech on behalf of all of us, and once that was done we all became 'unofficial Maoris’;' meaning that all we have to do if we want to go back for a visit is 'wait for the tribal leader to come, tap our noses together, and say, "I'm from Australia" and I'll be welcomed back into the tribe again as one of their own. Mum and I had troubles keeping our eyes open (we kept falling off the sleep) because we were so exhausted from all the early mornings, and the shore excursions. When the cultural experience ended we were given a drink before returning to the bus with our tribal leader for the day.

We had time to spare; so we took a scenic detour back to the ship. During the trip, we visited a cliff where we were given the opportunity to take a photo of the Dawn Princess cruise ship anchored in the Bay of Islands with yacht sitting in front of the ship; waiting to play 'cat and mouse' with the ship when it departs. When we arrived back to wharf, we boarded a public bus and went to a local shopping centre for lunch, and to finally enjoy a bottle of 'L&P'... New Zealand's famous drink' before returning to the ship. Shortly after arriving home, I found out the L&P drink is also sold here. All I have to do if I want another one is ‘find a New Zealand Ice Cream Store,’ and enjoy!

Shortly after re-boarding for the return trip to Sydney; we had a bit of fun getting of the Bay of Islands because a Yacht was in the way, and playing 'cat and mouse' with the cruise ship. Obviously, our Captain Paul Slight got a bit impatient so he blasted the horn five times (three followed by a final two) and it was really loud! I soon found out 'when a cruise ship blasts the horn five times it usually means 'get the hell out of my way,' and I was able to film 'two out of the first three horn blasts. I've heard about this happening, but I've never seen it before this day, and the funny thing is: 'I snuck up behind mum who was watching it all unfold from the top deck of the ship, and scared her with a vocal horn. A few minutes later, the Dawn Princess got even with me because that was when the final two horns were blasted at yacht.

Time eventually came for us to get ready for dinner. On our way to the Venetian dinning room; we went to the lower deck, and had our photo taken by one of the ships photographers before meeting up with our group for dinner. When the meal ended, mum and I went to photo gallery on deck seven to pick up our new photos which was waiting for us to pick up. We then went to the Princess Theatre where we laughed our socks off with guest performer 'Scott Williams (Also known as: 'the doctor of comedy,' or Australia's answer to 'Patch Adams').

The fun really began when that performance ended because the ship started going through a major sea swell; which made it hard and fun for everyone on board to walk straight without falling over. My sister and her new husband went on their New Zealand cruise a few years before we did. Join the cruise there was a comedian on board and during his ‘Showtime performance’ in the Princess Theatre he said, “on a cruise ship you can always tell who the drunk passengers are because they’re the ones walking straight!” This is definitely so true because when she’s rolling everyone has fun trying to walk straight.

OUR SECOND LAST SEA DAY:
Although we woke up at 7:30am with a room serviced breakfast in bed; we didn't have anymore shore excursions to worry about so we were able to recover, relax, and enjoy the rest of the cruise before returning to Sydney. We enjoyed a morning coffee in our cabin before going to the Horizon food court for a yummy breakfast. The sea swell (which started last night) continued all through out the day, and I pretty much started feeling sea sick as soon as I woke up. Thank goodness I had had some sea sick tablets with me this time; I started the cruise with a full box of tablets, and finished it with two left so it was pretty bad.

After breakfast, we went down to deck five for a game of 'Carpet Bowling' Princess cruises style. The game had two teams (a boy team, and a girl team), guess what 'the girls won!' We the fun ended; we went our separate ways. It was our second formal night, so mum went to the ships Beauty Salon for her 4:30pm hair appointment, and I went to the Princess Theatre for the afternoon movie. I kept falling off to sleep because I wasn't feeling well, but I still enjoyed the movie. My hair appointment took place at 5:30pm, and the sad thing is 'I missed the one hour Elton John concert which played on the top deck of the ship during my hair appointment!' During the appointment, the Hairdresser tried to sell me an expensive product that I didn't need. I work in the Beauty industry so I know all their tricks.

It was so windy that day on the deck so I had to find another way to get back to the cabin. I had a folded up map of the ship with me, and I was able to find a short cut from where I was (at the back of the ship) to the cabin on deck nine; located towards the front of the ship without messing my hair up. Mum was already dressed when I got back to the cabin, and I didn't have much time to get ready for our second formal night. Like the first formal night, the second one started with a professional photo shoot. The night itself was just as amazing, and I enjoyed every moment of it. During the photo shoot, one of the ships photographers was close by, and he 'photo bombed' (or stepped into) one of the photos. When the laughter finished, the photographer took our photo again.

Straight after dinner, we went to the Princess Theatre for the showtime performance. Although the dancing in the show was amazing; I kept falling off to sleep because I was so exhausted, and I wasn't well. I usually went to the Jammers Night club when the show ended, but this time I didn't because all I wanted to do was 'sleep' so we returned to the cabin together. I still had my formal dress on, and I was pretty much a sleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. Mum had to take my glasses off, and I slept with my good ring on. The good news is, 'I was able to sleep it off, and fine in the morning' which was a good thing because the last day of the cruise was also my birthday.

CELEBRATING MY BIRTHDAY AT SEA:
My birthday only just made the cruise because it took place on the final sea day which was Monday 15th January. We woke up early to celebrate my birthday, and to enjoy the final day on board the ship before its return to Sydney. Mum was the one who found the birthday surprise on our cabin door because when she opened the door to let our room service guy in, she found two balloons on the wall next to the cabin door, and a sign on the door itself containing a birthday greeting from Princess Cruises. The sign red, 'Happy Birthday. Congratulations and thank you for sailing with us!'

We then enjoyed a yummy breakfast in the Horizon food court. When we finished eating, we went to the pool deck where we enjoyed the spa (mum for the first time), and the entertainment on the deck. I stayed with her in the spa for a short time until she got use to it; before getting out of the spa, and going into the pool to enjoy the 'ship made waves' for the final time before getting off the ship. It was an enjoyable swim because the ship was experiencing some ruff weather which produced some really good waves in the ships swimming pools, and caused me to go 'wahoo' each time I went in. When the waves became too ruff I got out of the pool, and to watched the action from the deck which was a shame because it was my final time in the Dawn's swimming pool before the ship went to P&O, and became the 'Pacific Explorer.'

Despite this, the funny thing was 'the ruff weather around the ship produced bigger waves in the pool which led to more people getting into the pool to enjoy the action.' As well as the rest of the ship; the wave pool is the ships best feature because 'it's the best way to swim in the pacific ocean... without actually swimming in the pacific ocean!'

We then dried off, and returned to the Horizon food court for lunch before going to the Princess Theatre together for the movie, 'Now You See Me two,’ and I absolutely loved it. When the movie ended, we went into the Wheel House Bar for a drink, and played two games of 'Skipbo' with mum who won both games... sad face! During the games, mum told me 'she's already put the $100.00 deposit down for another cruise.' I was glad when she said that because "If she didn't.. I would've!' When the games ended, we went to the photo gallery for the final time to pick up any remaining photos of us before returning to the cabin to pack our backs for home. I was so surprised at how fast it took our room attended to pick up our luggage because when we left our cabin for dinner the bags we put outside was already gone.

After dinner, we said our goodbye's to our waiters, and the people we met at our table before returning to the cabin to finish packing, and to get ready for the 'Farewell to the Dawn Princess cruise ship Balloon drop.' I had about an hour to spare so I went to the Princess Theatre for the final time to watch 'the worlds best Robbie Williams impersonator' in action. Although it was a fantastic show, and I was really enjoying it; I had to leave the theatre early to get a good spot in the Grand Ballroom for the 'Balloon Drop'.. which was a nice touch on my special day. It was my birthday so I really got into it this time. I remembered what 'Bazil' (the Assistant Cruise

Director from our first cruise) did in my previous cruise, and I did the same this time. I got into one of the glass lifts at the top floor, faced the glass wall, and danced my way to the ground floor. When the doors of the lift opened, I got out and enjoyed a bit of the party on the dance floor before returning to the same lift, and dancing my way to the top floor where my things were. I did this because I saw the opportunity, and I took it... if I was going to to do it, I had to do it then, and I enjoyed every moment of it! When the party ended, I returned to the cabin for the final night on board the beautiful cruise ship.

SAILING INTO SYDNEY HARBOUR:
And now the end is near. Mum was the first one to wake up as the ship was returning to Sydney. The ship was still at sea so when she approached our cabin window. When mum stepped onto the balcony, she could see land and house lights from the ship. I then woke up briefly for a look before returning to bed for another hour. We both woke up for the day at 5:30am. I was slowly waking up when mum looked out the window and announced to me, "Karina, we've gone through the heads!" When she said that, It wasn't long before my eyes were open, and I was up on the deck filming the ships arrival as it sailed into Sydney.

Although I got 'sea sick twice;' it was still a fantastic cruise. I met some amazing people (both on and off the ship), and it was a great way to celebrate my birthday. I prefer 'land cruising' at the moment; but I'm still looking forward to my next cruise (which will either be 'a family cruise, or another mother daughter cruise) and I'd encourage everyone to 'cruise New Zealand for themselves because it's an amazing place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb