catching up


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Westport
February 7th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oops sorry people,

I got down to the south island and haven't been the best at updating the travelblog. Well what to tell ya. Its been 6 days since I got roasted at the beach and I'm now loosing the final bits of the burn and can just about wear a seatbelt again.

Last Friday I went to an acquarium and went out that night in Auckland with Podger. I matched the poor boy drink for drink but he's not able for it anymore. He fell asleep under a tree. The following day I had a hangover in my feet only so we went out for the cure in Newmarket. Serious blouse browsing. Stayed in on Saturday night as had flight down to Joanne the following morning and the sunburn was killing me. Podger drove me to the airport and he was still hammered.

Met Joanne in the South Island in Christchurch, understated meeting as always. Then we rented a little blue 1.3L Daewoo for the trip. Drove up to KaiKoura and went out on the tear. I love the drink over here especially Monteiths Golden ale.........sooooo good.

The following morning we were both feeling a little hairy but fight and all we got down to the encounters office on time to go swimming with dolphins for the whole morning as you do. That afternoon we went to Hamner Springs in the mountains and laid back in some thermal spas. Got to Nelson that evening and collapsed in the room.

Form Nelson we went to Abel Tasman national reserve which is a beautiful rainforest that you can walk or kayak around in a week or just go on short day long walks. Breathtaking..... you be walking along a track like killiney hill and then out of nowhere you see a waterfall on your left quickly followed by a 500ft fall literally on the edge of the path.

From there we went to a hippy community in the northwest called Takaka in Golden Bay. Lonibins, stoners handing you the keys to the rooms and then asking if your staying around for a couple of days for Bob Marleys birthday celebrations. They forgot our dinner order 4 times that eveniong, very funny.

Yesterday we travelled from golden bay down the Buller river for 3 hours to Westport where we went quad biking and jet boating up the buller river. Very good day. I have photos and videos of the lot but I can't find a fast enough computer to upload them. Will update when I can.

Haha, your not here

John

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb