Life as a Wanacanadian


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
March 23rd 2008
Published: March 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wanaka, home of me and my good friend Shania Twain. Just had to name drop the celebrity that basically is my girlfriend. Now that I have spread ther news of my celebrity encounter I hope my readership doubles. But I shouldnt have to use cheap gimmicks and celebrity gossip..(Shania wears yellow ball caps)..to get readership about the life and times of me in Wanaka. Cause Wanaka has the goods to keep anyone here!
I am officially on a travelling break and working and being a true Wanacanadian. The town is great and perfect for someone like me, who doesnt know how to drive, everything is walking distance of everything. Bars, grocery stores, my job, my home, my lake, my friends. And everything around is just a short drive away, queenstown, christchurch, dundedin, cool natural things. Hitch hiking is cool to, anyone picks you up so its easy to get those extra distances.
I keep busy by playing basketball, and coaching the highschool team, I am unsure how that happened, but its sweet. There are lots of neat walks and bike trails and I crusie around town in my blue spray painted bike that I obviously named Shania(In homage to my woman). My flat is really neat, I share it with four women and I live in the colourfully painted and instantly frown turing upside down room in the garage. I got a bed, and a dresser and even a mirror that i can stare at and comb my buzzed hair. The wallpaper is rainbows and seagulls with multicoulour curtains with hang gliders on it. So happy in there.
I just got back from the Warbirds over Wanaka, which is the biggest airshow in the southern hemispehere. It was pretty neat, lots fo planes and mock flight battles. Big explosions and lots of big planes that people knew alot of information about. They were all really loud.
Work is going excellent, its a great vactaion job, very relaxed and full of movies and free food. I am a sucker for free things. Apparently its world famous, especaiily in the world of Isreal. They all know about it and come to Wanaka just for our cookies. Which I must say am the master of making. We sometimes get live theater and concerts in here as well, so there is always something interesting going on.
I have decided to stay for the winter, I have bought a ski hill pass for codrona mountain and am gonna master the art of snowboarding....actually just fall down alot until it looks like I am good. Everyone is always so suprised that i can not snowboard and I am from Canada. I always have to apologize.
My tentative new plan in to stay and do new Zealand until about September then go to Austrailia for their spring and then Tahiland and southeast asia for November and December. Finally home around Christams. Then who knows, maybe school, maybe not, i should eb settling in Victoria again though. Nanaimo is probably done with for me. So depending on who you are thats either good news or bad news.
Thats it thats all, my brother is coming in a week and thats gonna be swwet, gonna do a huge bungy jump and have topped Joeys bungee by more then 100 meters.
Alright until next time, please leave comments and stuff cause I am a gluttton for attention!
Tim


Advertisement



23rd March 2008

THATS MY BOY!
Leave it to you to find 4 girls who would take you in---you are right - too much info re: Shania...I want the goods on JOHN T...love your stories Tim - keep em coming....HUGS
23rd March 2008

hmmm?
You cant snowboard and you are from canada? I guess we should call you a "wanabecanadian". Sounds like alot of fun, wish we could be there to join you. I hope you will be coming home for long beach trip. Tell Shania the "Stallion" says hi, she will know what you mean ;)
23rd March 2008

:) Sounds like you're having fun and growing some roots in that town! just make sure you stick to coaching the highschool set and not picking them up! :D

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb