Hiking on a friday 13th: what could go wrong?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
October 22nd 2017
Published: October 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Last friday was friday the 13th and I'm not superstitious or anything but still... I hate days like these. So yeah I went to the Hauroko lake, the deepest lake in New Zealand and I did a hike that was the most exhausting track that I did so far. But I DID IT and as the sayings goes: the best view comes after the hardest climb!
Beside that I drove to the Clifden limestone caves, where I saw glow worms for the first time! On sunday I spontaneously decided to hike to the first hut from the Kepler Track. I have to admit that it was quite exhausting to go up especially as I had an extra weight because of my backpack. Additionaly, the weather conditions weren't the best. However I was very proud of myself when I arrived at the Luxmore hut (1080m) where I spent a nice afternoon/evening with some very lovely people: A spanish guy with whom I had the opportunity to refresh my spanish knowledge, a danish girl and a guy from France.
Furthermore I drove down to the famous Milford Sound and despite the cloudy weather it was stunning! I had to pass through a tunnel and lucky as I was there where keas, the world's only mountain parrots, just in front of my car. So cool and they weren't scared at all!
The next day it took me a whole day to do one of the great walks, the routeburn track. Hiking through a forest next to a clear blue river and at some point arriving at the top of the moutains, where you hike through the leftover of the snow and from where you can see a lake was nice. However I have to admit that it wasn't my favorite hike.
So after that I was finally ready to explore Queenstown, where I met up with Adela. We hiked the Queentown hill walkway up, where we profited from the sunny weather to report from our adventures in New Zealand. In the evening we decided to eat at Fergburger's as they apparently make the best burgers in NZ. After that we drove back to our camping site, where we enjoyed ourselves with a bottle of beer!
Oh and you know what? We jumped from the famous 8 m height cliff and it was so niceeeeeee!!!!! (expect that you are freezing because of the cold water from the lake). I will definitely do it again, when I'll come back to Queenstown!
Today I arrived in Wanaka, where I hiked up to the Mt. Iron (from where you have a view over Wanaka). After that I drove to the famous Wanaka tree and yeah in the afternoon I found a lovely spot, where you have clear blue water and where you have a rope swing, which I used. Except the cold water it was fun😊
Right now I'm stuck on a camping site as I realized that one of my tires is losing air... Unfortunately I have to wait until monday to go to a mechanic. Shitty gravel roads here in New Zealand


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb