Finally out of Haast!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
April 22nd 2010
Published: April 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well, what a not very interesting couple of months it's been....

So when I was in England saying "I'll look for a job, I'm not looking for a career so I don't care if I just clean toilets...." I never expected to clean quite so many of them. It's damn near all I've done since December!

So what's been going on over here? Well after everyone did their final shifts over the weekend we had the party to end all parties (one guy was still hungover 2 days later) before finally leaving en masse on Monday to new adventures and currently myself and 2 of the Chefs are cruising together, which works out very well for me as one of them has a car.

So on Monday we headed down to Queenstown to catch up with some other peeps and generally hang out and cause mischief. I managed to sneak in a slot at an Open Mike night and then realised I hadn't done anything like that for weeks so it was good to blow some cobwebs off and then the next day we headed up the mountain to race down the Luge track. To say we laughed a lot doesn't even come close to how much fun we had. WHICH REMINDS ME - On a rare day off a few of us managed to make it to Wanaka to hit PUZZLING WORLD, trust me when I say there is nowhere on earth that can mess with your mind as much as that place does. I've seen a snooker table at an angle and watched the cue ball roll UP the slope, right before I nearly fell over coz I felt like I was on such a steep slope (the case of bourbon and coke Kierran and I consumed had nothing to do with it I assure you).But anyway, I digress - on to more current affairs....

I resisted the urge to zipline or paraglide back down the mountain, opting instead to save that money for food and beds for the rest of my trip and the next day the 3 of us headed for the mighty Milford Sound, which was somewhere I've wanted to go since before I left England.

As it was a 4 hour road trip I shared the driving and it's a good job the car is an automatic because I spent most of the time with one hand on the wheel and the other holding my camera. We were all prepared for Milford to be the amazing picturesque (sp?) place we'd read about but what we weren't prepared for was the scenery on the drive there. I think we added about 45mins to the drive from stopping to take photos...

We stopped for coffee on the way at Te Anau and had all previously agreed to spend the night there after our boat trip on the Sound, but we had no idea how the view would be there so right now I'm still in Te Anau because we added an extra night to soak it up a bit more!

The rest of the drive was without incident and the boat cruise was amazing, it was just a shame it was a bit cloudy so we couldn't see the tops of the mountains around us, but we did sail out far enough to see where the Sound meets the Tasman Sea and did get drenched by one of the waterfalls so it was all good.

Then we came back to Te Anau and having gone to bed I instantly missed having my own room as I'd had since February as there were 6 of us in the room and 3 of them were snoring. I did manage to motivate myself to go for a run along the lake this morning so I'm quite proud of myself just now and there's another open mike here tonight I'll probably hit up.

The big question now is what next.....?




Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

QueenstownQueenstown
Queenstown

view from the hostel
Lake Te AnauLake Te Anau
Lake Te Anau

or is it Te Anau Lake...? doesn't matter...


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb