Invercargil


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Southland » Invercargill
January 9th 2003
Published: January 9th 2003
Edit Blog Post

It has been about 6 weeks since I last wrote on TravelBlog, I'm not sure why it has taken me so long to try and catch up. I finished travelling around New Zealand, and my made my way across to Australia. For the sake of completeness I'll try and write about the places I saw in New Zealand and my few weeks in Australia so far. But after even such a short time some of the details have faded.

Laura and I drove down the southern scenic route from Te Anua to Invercargil. It wasn't as scenic as the drive down the west coast or the road from Wanaka to Queenstown, but there was a nice bridge, the Clifdon bridge - I think.

Invercargil is the southern most city in New Zealand. The reputation of the city as the world mullet capital seems to have been unfounded. I saw very few mullets, but chequered shirts were quiet popular. I had hoped to go from Invercargil across to Stewart Island but after spending a morning researching prices and options realised that it was going to be quite expensive, and really really muddy. It turns out that if I had have made it across to Stewart Island I would have witnessed the unfortunate beaching of over 100 pilot whales and the subsequent death of most of them.

The Southern Comfort Backpackers, another really nice hostel, just on the edge of the town outside Queens Park. The park is the jewel of the town, a large impressive park with trees of all types and sizes and a golf course. I spent an afternoon reading in the park.

In the evening - well the pubs were pretty empty, so watched a movie - blue crush - based in Hawaii. Not the most exciting city... cities in New Zealand are misnamed... a city is a big place. Invercargil and lots of the other cities here are really small, no bigger than towns back in the big brash UK., but I guess every country has the right to determine what should be considered a city or not in its own territory. Then there is Wells in Somerset, big church not much else, not a city. Back to stating that Invercargil is not the most exciting place I've ever been to - nice watertower though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb