Sunday 27th Match - Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 27th 2011
Published: March 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Not doing much today – “day of rest”. It is overcast
Di gets up at around 08:00, and I get my lie-in for about an hour, but Di is not the quietest of people in the morning, going in and out of the van, making a noisy breakfast – although I’m sure she wasn’t doing it on purpose!!

I eventually get showered after breakfast and I catch up with my Blog, while Di goes to the supermarket. It starts to rain and goes on into the afternoon. We had intended to go into Queenstown in the afternoon, but do not fancy getting soaked and wait around for the rain to stop. Every time it starts to brighten up and we are getting ready to go out it starts to rain again!
At around 16:00 the rain eventually stops and we can go into town and a walk down to the lake front (Lake Wakatipu). We did a bit of shopping and went for dinner at Chico’s restaurant – which was good. They had music on which was all cover versions of the Beatles songs, I asked what it was and it turned out to be the soundtrack from a film called “I am Sam”. When I looked it up on the net it was directed by Sean Penn who wanted to use the original Beatles tracks but could not due to problems in getting permission – so he had other artists record Beatles numbers!!. Must get the soundtrack when I get home (and maybe watch the movie!).
Not much else to report for today. We have a 06:30 pick –up tomorrow for a 12 hour excursion to Milford Sound – So early night!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb