Queenstown! Wahoo!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 15th 2007
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finally did the long awaited, much feared, canyon swing! I arrived at the Canyon Swing headquarters in town and signed my life away. I had to jump on the scales too which was also pretty scary! But much to my relief they didn't write my weight on my hand as they do with the bungee jumps but they drew a picture on my hand instead to indicate the weight bracket! (Thank God!) So anyway, we all jumped into the van and on our drive to the Canyon watched a video about the swing and all the different jumpstyles you can do. As we climbed a mountain and the fall off the edge got higher and higher I started to get really nervous!

We arrived and after a trip to the toilet to flush away last minute nerves (well that was the theory anyway- don't think it worked!) I then made my way to the jumping deck. I was so scared when I saw the drop and even more scared when I got kitted up into my harness! It suddenly dawned on me that not only was I about to throw myself into a 200m canyon but that I
All harnessed up...All harnessed up...All harnessed up...

...oh my God- what the hell am I about to do?!
had also already paid $159 to do it! No refund and I'm a backpacker- we can't afford to waste money!

So I watched everyone else jump first which was silly because I just got more and more nervous! Eventually there was no putting it off- it was my turn. I was petrified- I thought I'd be brave and crazy but no- I was a wimp. I told the guys not to mess with me cos with everyone else they had strung it out and made it all quite psychological. So anyway, they attached my harness and dangled me over the canyon. Then asked me a question and told me if I got it wrong they'd drop me! It was a political question- what the hell do I know about politics??!! Nothing is the answer so they simply said...'well you know what's gonna happen now don't you?!...' then they dropped me.

The feeling of gravity hit my stomach as I fell 109m in free fall before the bungee kicked in and I started my swing. I enjoyed the swing but have to say I much prefer free falling from a plane. It was definitely an experience though. But not one that I'll be repeating anytime soon (ever!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

There I go...There I go...
There I go...

...that free fall feeling...wow!


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb