Cross-country, New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
September 22nd 2005
Published: September 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

At some stage, I was wondering whether to add this trip here because I worried that I could recall some unhappy memories during the trip. Now, I decide that I should not omit this. For it would not be wise for one to forget the past. Nevertheless, the scenery in New Zealand is beautiful and it seems it will be a pity if I am not to post and share the pictures from my trip.

My route in NZ was: flying into Auckland, then got a cross-country train to Wellington. From Wellington, I took a ferry to Picton on South Island, where I continued my journey to Christchurch. I then travelled by bus to Queenstown, and from there I had a tour to Mildford Sound before ending my trip.

I would say my trip really began when I crossed onto the South Island because it is more beautiful there. However, I think the Waiheke Island in Auckland and the Te Papa (which is NZ's national museum) are also great points of interest on the North Island. All along my way, I was surprised to find that this country is so spasely populated outside the cities and one could
Auckland HarbourAuckland HarbourAuckland Harbour

View from Sky Tower
be so close to nature.

The highlight of my trip was Queenstown and Mildford Sound. These places, in my opinion, are some of the most beautiful parts in the country and should not be missed on any trip to NZ. Queenstown is a leisure centre situated inside a magnificant valley, and around it, there are snow-peaked mountains where a number of sports can be played. Mildford sound is acutally a fjord and a boat curise is an excellent way to tour it.

Because of what had happened, I don't think I should say too much here. But I have learnt one thing, which is to realise that there are certain things you can't control in life. Therefore, cherish what you have and the people around you.

And I now believe that what happens in one's past, whether good or bad, will indeed be valuable to himself some time in the future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Waiheke IslandWaiheke Island
Waiheke Island

35 minutes by ferry from Auckland
Midway between Auckland and WellingtonMidway between Auckland and Wellington
Midway between Auckland and Wellington

The train journey took 12 hours
WellingtonWellington
Wellington

View from the Botanical Garden
Interisland FerryInterisland Ferry
Interisland Ferry

Took me from Wellington to Picton
Approaching South IslandApproaching South Island
Approaching South Island

Taken from the ferry
Enroute to Mildford SoundEnroute to Mildford Sound
Enroute to Mildford Sound

Snow-peaked mountains


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb