More extreme Mum in Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
September 14th 2006
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Wanaka to Queenstown to Te Anau


Thursday 14th September 2006
We left Wanaka and arrived in Queenstown, and being adventure capital of the world, Mum went paragliding off Coronet Peak, see the video here. Again I was the one left on the ground with the camera!

After that we went up the Gondola and had a bit to eat. We then had a go on the Luge, which was great fun. See the video of Mum here. Also see the panoramic view here.

Back in town went to the minus five degrees ice bar for a quick drink. Nice sculptures and very good cocktails in ice glasses (good to eat and smash after drinking). It was ok, but the novelty soon wore off for me. Mind you, might have been different if not for the fact that I could only have one drink as I was driving.

We left Queenstown and drove on towards Te Anau. On the way the Remarkables were on fire. A controlled burning had got out of control and a huge wall of fire was ragging across the range. Up to seven helicopters were constantly dropping water on it, some working through the night. I was mesmorised.. by the helicopters, not the fire, see here and here.

At Te Anau we stayed at the same place I stayed with Strays.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Mum paraglidingMum paragliding
Mum paragliding

One of the reasons I came to NZ was to paraglide and my Mum does it before me!
Remarkables on fire!Remarkables on fire!
Remarkables on fire!

See the helicopters?


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb