A Canadian in New Zealand-Days 26 and 27 - Cape Foulwind, West Coast, Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, Truman Track, and Hokitika Beach


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Punakaiki
April 25th 2016
Published: April 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On day 26 I was mobile southward from Golden Bay to tackle the west coast of the South Island. On my way out of Takaka I stopped at the Te Waikoropupu Springs (the pupu). There is a gentle 1 km walk which takes you to the clearest spring water in the world. The water is so clear you can easily see the sand at the bottom. After a 3 hour drive (again having to tackle Takaka Hill), I arrived in Westport on the west coast. Since it was early afternoon I still had time to explore. First stop was the seal colony as part Cape Foulwind Walkway; an easy 15 minute stroll to the viewing point. Saw a few seals from afar. Was expecting more. On the way one can view Wall Island. Although small in size, it is one of the most important seabird colonies on the west coast. Six species breed there. After a quick walk to see the lighthouse at Cape Foulwind, I found a nearby beach to explore. Today(day 27), I ventured down the west coast of the south island. Rocky coastlines, sandy beaches and the natural wonders of the Paparoa National Park. At Punakaiki there are the amazing Pancake Rocks and Blowholes. One of the prettiest, well-groomed, and well-designed walkways to a natural attraction I have seen. The walkway takes you to the Pancake Rocks; rocks layered as if they were stacks of pancakes. The track around is about a km and affords great views of the rocks and the rugged coastline. A must see if you are in the area. If not, make a special trip to see. There is also a short trail, the Truman Track, which takes you through a magical tropical forest to the rugged coastline. At the end of the trail you have access to a beach which I explored for about a half hour. Further south I stopped at Hokitika where there is a well-known beach for driftwood. The classic Hokitika Beach sign is made of driftwood from the area. A fun beach to roam. I found 2 walking sticks. Not sure how I will get them home? I finished the day by driving to Franz Josef Glacier Township. I hope to see the glacier from one of the walking trails.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Love these blind hillsLove these blind hills
Love these blind hills

Never know whats coming


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb