Day 52: Wailing Went the Weather


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
January 20th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post


The wind wuthered all night, and I woke to much lower temperatures, though not yet too low for me. I don't know what it'll be doing tonight. The high winds have continued. I've spent the day doing laundry -- hung my thermal underwear and my hat on the clothesline, and they nearly blew away, though I had them anchored with five clothespins apiece.

I went out for a walk early in the morning, down to the bay, but I don't think I'll manage my other two walks. Well, at Myrtle Beach I always count the laundry as at least one of the walks.

Laundry was without incident this time, thank God, though I did wash on regular rather than perm press, being a bit paranoid about perm press by now.

It is a gray day, very damp. At times there has been actual fog; at other times, it has just been hazy. At one point, while I still had my clothes on the line, it began to rain, and the very kind person next door ran out and got my thermals off the line. (I had already gotten my hat.)

The strange thing is that the wind cannot seem to choose a direction. Gusts come from every point of the compass. It's like being in the center of a whirlwind. The skipper of the boat yesterday predicted this; he said he could see the North Island in the distance and whenever you could see that far there would be wind the next day.

Besides doing laundry, I have been staying abed, reading Lewick's Antarctic Penguins and the fanfic "Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality." Presently I must take a look at those other two Reader's Digest Condensed Books; Antarctic Penguins is an e-book and of course "Methods of Rationality" is available online, but I'll have to leave the RDCB volume here.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Lawn mowerLawn mower
Lawn mower

at Buccaneer Lodge


Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb