Queenstown ( part 2 )


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
December 13th 2005
Published: December 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Not a bungy jumpNot a bungy jumpNot a bungy jump

Sara finds god
So when I went travelling my mum said I should go and do whatever I want... except a bungy jump. Why this was singled out I don't know. Fortunately the idea didn't appeal to me that much anyway. However, it turns out that it's against New Zealand law to visit Queenstown without jumping off something really high, so we opted for the world's largest swing. Basically you're on a bit of rope that's tied to a cable across a big canyon. You leap off a cliff, freefall the first 60m straight down until the rope becomes taut and brings you swinging across the bottom of the canyon a hundred metres below just nine metres above the river. It's fairly terrifying ( for me anyway ). Sara, who implicitly trusts anyone with a staff T-shirt, went for a second go - backwards. Anyway, it turned out that the other big activity we had planned was best done from the next place so we whiled away the rest of our time in Queenstown going on a few walks and visiting Arrowtown a small goldrush town nearby where we unfortunately yet again failed to strike it rich.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

We've got a runner...We've got a runner...
We've got a runner...

Nick discovers that running in mid air does not work
But I end up doing all the workBut I end up doing all the work
But I end up doing all the work

[ I always knew she was a gold digger ]


18th December 2005

bungy
Not a bungy jump but Like a bungy jump!!

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb