Moeraki Boulders


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Moeraki
March 15th 2006
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was my special wish to go and see Mouraki Boulders. It was about the only place in New Zealand I knew about before I came here. I had seen a picture in a calendar showing "Dream Horizons". And I wanted to take pictures myself. Unfortunately the Weather was not to good, but we still enjoyed this accumulation of huge stone marbles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Born by the Cliff...Born by the Cliff...
Born by the Cliff...

Like dinosaur eggs boulders erode out of the cliff.
Further to the SeaFurther to the Sea
Further to the Sea

This one is heavily carved by the tourists.
Breaking the EggsBreaking the Eggs
Breaking the Eggs

When the surf finally breaks the boulders their inner structure presents intself. Several layers of differently colored stone with a characteristic crack pattern around a hollow core.


Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 44; qc: 179; dbt: 0.204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb