New Zealand - West Coast and Nelson - Feb 27 - 28


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region
March 28th 2014
Published: March 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

In Franz Josef, my new friend Luz and I, loaded up on the bus to Nelson. We continued to chat and watched the scenery go by, occasionally nodding off due to the lack of sleep (lots of snoring going on in our 5-share room last night). So, unfortunately I missed a lot of the spectacular scenery.



We stopped for lunch at a creepy possum lunch place where I met a friendly goat and Luz met a man from Barcelona who only spoke spanish. So, I left them to their spanish chatting - he was getting off in Hokitika to catch a train that would take him over the Southern Alps back to Christchurch.



We boarded and continued our journey to Nelson with short stops at Hokitika and Greymouth, both appearing to be worthwhile villages to explore. We had a longer stop at Punikaiki to view the Pancake Rocks, unusual layered rocks that no one really knows how they were formed. This is the only location they exist.



Finally, about 10 hours after the start of the journey, we rolled into Nelson, which looked to be a lovely little beach town. It was
My Goat FriendMy Goat FriendMy Goat Friend

This was a very friendly goat at the creepy possum place that trotted right up to me for some pets!
late so Luz and I checked into separate lodging for the night, she in Bug Backpackers and me in Trafalgor Lodge with my own private bed and bath! We agreed to meet for dinner. I noticed on the way out of my hotel, there was salsa/rueda dancing going on across the street! I looked on longingly as I love to check out local salsa scenes. But hunger and weariness and the promise to meet my friend kept me moving past. After a quick dinner, Luz and I said our goodbyes. She was continuing on to Rotorua the next day and I had a day in Nelson. We exchanged information promising to keep in touch. I hope we do as she is a kindred spirit!



The next day with no bus to catch and no agenda, I sleep in. What to do??? I would have liked to go kayaking, but had no one to kayak with and the concessions would not rent to a person going out alone. I didn't have time for a tour. But I had read there was great mountain biking. So, I tracked down UBike who set me up with a mountain bike, helmet,
Pancake RocksPancake RocksPancake Rocks

A sign at the trailhead provided this information - "In an age when it seems as if everything has been explained, nature hangs on to a few mysteries. The Pancake Rocks of Punakaiki are among them." Scientist know the rocks are limestone but don't know how they became layered.
directions and map to the local mountain biking park! As I biked through the town to the park, I quickly came to appreciate this little slice of heaven in NZ! A cute, quiet ocean town. A little funky and alternative. Close to Abel Tasman. And I was soon to find out had a small mountain biking mecca!



After a few wrong turns, I finally found the Codger's MTB Park. Referring to the map, I decided on some 'intermediate' trails and proceeded to try and find them. They had names like 'Guts' and 'Pig' and 'Pump'. I wanted 'Furball' but as usual I got lost and ended up on 'P51'. Going of course the wrong way. Sweet single track but all uphill and very steep. So I ended up hiking the bike up a hill called 'No Name Hill'. Hmm, why hadn't I noticed this before I started up. Finally I reached the 'saddle skid' which had a great view and figured out where I was on the map. It was probably a good thing I went up this trail. While not too technical, this 'intermediate' track would have been challenging for me. Very steep and full of tight switch backs I'm not sure I could have negotiated with with the bike.



I decided to check to see if I had any messages and sure enough, there was one from Heidi. 'We have to leave tonight bad weather expected tomorrow'. Huh? I wasn't expecting them until tomorrow at 4pm! I'm pleasantly lost at the top of the No Name Hill! When are they coming through? Do I have enough time to get unlost, return the bike, get to the hotel, pack and meet my ride back to Auckland? Well dear readers, I won't keep you in suspense. I found a sweet single track trail that took me back to the trailhead, coasted back to town, turned in the bike to the nice guy at UBikes who refunded me part of my money (I paid for a whole day but kept it less than four hours). I had just enough time to grab a bite to eat, shower, pack and meet up with Heidi, Janice and Ryka to catch the 7pm ferry to Wellington. Ahh how I hated to leave Nelson, my favorite town yet. I had hardly begun to explore it. But, I had to get back to Auckland. Heidi consoled me by telling me we would be stopping in Taupo and Rotorua with the extra day we had. That works for me!



After a two hour drive we arrived at the ferry terminal, drove on, and secured our seats in the lounge. While waiting to launch, I watched the port activity. I didn't realize it but it is also a seaplane port and got to watch a seaplane take off!



The ferry finally was ready launch around 7pm. The first hour or so takes you through the beautiful sound before hitting the open sea for the next two hours. It was an uneventful crossing and we arrived in Wellington to stay with friends of Heidi and Janice's, Deb and Miraz, who lived up a very windy, narrow street in one of those houses that sit on the side of a hill! I wondered briefly how the houses stay up when Wellington gets earthquakes but didn't dwell on it too long. I was pretty exhausted and fell fast asleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ferry Crossing Picton to WellingtonFerry Crossing Picton to Wellington
Ferry Crossing Picton to Wellington

Heidi and I enjoying the views at sunset


Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb