Nelson


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
October 15th 2006
Published: October 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

WellingtonWellingtonWellington

Wellington is a nice city on the sea and had this coll ball hanging in its central square
So I got the boat over to south island on Tuesday morning. People where saying how bad the crossing was when it is windy- which it was but it was fine and I actually slept most of the way over. I then drove across to Nelson.
Once there I visited Founders Heritage Park which is a mini village with all the buildings the Europeans would have had when they first arrived over here. I then went to the WOW (World of Wearable art) museum. Which is full of dresses which are also art masterpieces. They had them on a revolving catwalk as well as a dark room with florescent pieces. There was also a video of the show from previous years. It is on at the moment but had become to big for Nelson so it has been moved to Wellington. There is also a car show there, which had a huge Cadillac as well as a model of the first car ever made.
I then went to Sally’s house (one of the teachers from Nayland Primary School here in Nelson) which is up on a hill with amazing views. I’ve been staying here since then with her daughter Jess (13)
The famous but ugly BeehiveThe famous but ugly BeehiveThe famous but ugly Beehive

their parliament building.
and son Tom (17). (Her husband is away on business).

On Wednesday I went into Nayland Primary school. It is a lot bigger than home and has no Hall so everything is done outside. The kids from my old class have been emailing the children here so it was interesting to meet up with them. Their classrooms are bigger than home- but only one computer in each class (because they have a computer suite).

Thursday I had a lye in and in the evening Jess and I went to a Hypnotists show. It was very cleaver and he had the whole audience participating. I felt sorry for the people involved because at the end they thought the show was about to begin- it must be scary to not remember 2 hours of you life- well I guess it’s the same as being really drunk!!

On Friday I did a bone-carving course and made a necklace-It was impressive what we could make in a few hours. On Saturday Jess and I went shopping and a shop assistant said she liked my necklace- I was like- I made it!!

Friday afternoon all the primary schools in the area put on a masked parade down the high street so I went to watch Sally in that. It was very entertaining. In the evening we went to watched one of the kids in her class perform. He can play the piano very well and composes his own pieces but he is only just 9. However it was a bit sickening watching him for 2 and a half hours with lots of adults who did duets with him talking about how wonderful he was.

Saturday was spent finding long trousers with Jess, which was a success, and finding some cute shoes for her. It was fun having a girly day shopping.

I’m leaving tomorrow for another road trip down the west coast. I’ll put photos on when I can. Love to all.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Founders ParkFounders Park
Founders Park

Do you like my arty photo?
Nayland school masked paradeNayland school masked parade
Nayland school masked parade

Theme- reach for the stars
'The piano boy''The piano boy'
'The piano boy'

William Fairbairn- If you're interested- he does have a website- http://www.williamfairbairn.co.nz/


20th October 2006

Comment
It all seems very quiet so I thought I'd add a comment

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb