Fall is in the Air


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
May 7th 2005
Published: May 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends and family. I'm sure about now some of you are experiencing lovely spring weather and flora. One friend in Japan just wrote and told me the recently ending Cherry Blossom Season was more spectacular than expected. Aahh, cherry blossoms. I have fond memories of the seasons I spent in DC admiring those lovely buds!

As for me, fall is everywhere. The colors of the autumn leaves are stunning but fleeting for those south-westernly winds can be brutal. And just moments ago, there was hail outside. Not too much exciting going on these days. I am diligently working away at my temporary payroll duties. I am continuously "finishing" and then scurrying around the office to see if anyone has anything else for me to do. So I've accomplished a series of inconsequential filing projects that still seem to not occupy enough my working hours...

I expect to work there at least two more full weeks before taking off to travel back up north for a short spell. I hear I am making pretty good money for the area - Nelson is one of the lower wage earning areas in the country. In fact, I hear that immigration requirements for the area, besides being skilled in fishing, agriculture, vitriology or IT, anyone with a Masters Degree or PhD in ANY field can work up to three years here in the Marlborough region without applying for residency. Back on point, I may stick around a week or two longer just to gather some more savings. "On verra," as the french say (I think!).

I have also kept one of my restaurant jobs - the one in the wine bar/restaurant. The work continues to be real mellow and the few hours I work at a time are worth the pay w/o tips, a nice free meal, some live jazz and pleasing customers. Plus, I've been learning to make some of the unique style of NZ coffee drinks including a Flat White, Long Black, short Black, and well, the mochacinos are the same.

Other than that, life is not too exciting. Lately I've been enjoying the walks home from work where I get to watch the sun setting over the tucked-away hillside homes I live amongst (see photos). The colors, like fall colors anywhere fall occurs in ernest, are breathtaking. But soon all the leaves will have blown away and the sun will have set before I make it up the hill and then, well then, it may be time to head back north.

The social highlight of my season was a staff party with the kayak company people I met the first time I passed through Nelson. It was loads of fun. Particularly the impromptu karoake. Besides that, my social life is definitely lacking. But I've only been here a month so what can you expect?

Happy Mother's Day to all you moms. I miss you and love you and send my best.

Love to all. Be good to your mama. M-


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Sun Setting Over the PortSun Setting Over the Port
Sun Setting Over the Port

Nelmanc, where I work, is located a few blocks from the marina pictured in the center.
Sunrise at KaiteriteriSunrise at Kaiteriteri
Sunrise at Kaiteriteri

A bunch of us spent the night after the kayaking comp. party in Kaiteriteri in a house up on a different hill. It's about an hour northwest of Nelson.
Mating Dance!Mating Dance!
Mating Dance!

just kidding. please reference aforementioned karaoke! ,~>


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb