Glassblowing in Nelson


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
July 9th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was interesting to work with Anthony and Berry at flamedaisy in Nelson as it had been precisely a year since believing I would probably not be working with glass for some time. I felt happy and comfortable to be working in a familiar environment again, although would often sense the stress and strain, generated by the pressure of running a business, directly from Anthony. Seven weeks of working with him caused a degree of unease, yet we created some stunning artwork, and visitors to the studio commented on our compatibility to make glass together.

For the next couple of weeks I kept the furnace fired up, made beautiful glass pendants and served customers in the gallery etc. etc. while the owners went overseas for a family holiday. When they returned I was informed that there was no longer enough work to keep me employed. Despite this sudden change in circumstance I am grateful for the opportunity to work there and have learnt a lot from the experiences I encountered. It has strengthened my love of glassmaking and I am genuinely proud of my achievements within the field.

I have purposely kept this blog solely dedicated to my time at flamedaisy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb