From diving in solomons to the snow cap mountains of Nelson!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
August 28th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Nelson yesterday after overnighting in Auckland. I didn't realise I could be so cold!! My friend Marion and her husband were at the airport to meet me. Marion had to work in the afternoon so I tagged along. She gives wine tasting tours of Nelson - I tasted the non-alcoholic drinks. It was also an opportunity to see Nelson. It was great fun but cold - The high was about 12C. Today Marion Rita and I went on a Tramp in Nelson National lakes. A tramp is long walk. There are huts dotted along these trails in the mountains and people can stay at them and continue on the next day. We jsut did a 2 hr tramp up a mountain. We had lunch in the hut and then walked back down again. Last night the tops of the mountains had a dusting of snow!!! Unfortunately I can't down load the proof from the camera but I will do when I get home. Although it was cold the scencry was fantastic and I feel very refreshed. Tomorrow Marion is taking me to picton where we are dropping off Rita who will take the ferry back to wellington where she is at university. Having a great time but it is cold!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb