The centre of New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
February 4th 2005
Published: February 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Andrew & FionaAndrew & FionaAndrew & Fiona

at the centre of New Zealand
It was a roasting day today so we got creamed up and headed out for a walk along the river. Nelson is allegedly the centre point of New Zealand and they have a plaque and that to prove it, it's up some huge hill that's about a two hour walk but as it was a lovely day we thought we'd go and find it.

The river walk was nice but there's millions of these sand fly about, Fiona is happy now that I've been bitten a couple of times, she though they were picking on her but it seems they're not fussy after all, bad news for me.

Anyway we made it up the hill and it was worth it, we had to stop a few times on the way for water and a seat in the shade but eventually we reached the peak.

The views were great over the whole city and the hills behind it, we met a few people up there and had a blether about the history of Nelson and that, it's got quite a rough reputation and has some dodgy areas apparently but we've not seen anything like that, it's also the sunniest
Centre SpotCentre SpotCentre Spot

and not a football in sight.
city in New Zealand, the same as Dundee is to Scotland and that's got a dodgy reputation too, maybe it's an equation, you know, madness = daylight X cheap drink to the power of schoolgirl mums, or something like that.

After the walk we'd worked up such a thirst but we resisted the temptation to go to the boozer and just got a carry-out to sit in the garden with, see saving money Mum, got speaking to a Canadian couple who had just arrived after a 72 KM, three day hike, they were in there 50's at least man, puts our 4 hour round trip a bit to shame, anyway we had a few beers and some giggles, the dudes Mum was Scottish but had lived in Canada for 60 years so he enjoyed the banter and kept the beer flowing, my kind of guy, Canadians are alright, all the ones we've met travelling have the same sort of attitude as us, a wee bit more sensible though.

Anyway we settled down for a some chat about travelling New Zealand over the 'homemade' shortbread, first things first, can anyone tell me the difference between shortbread and shortcake? Is
FionaFionaFiona

with Nelson in the background
there any? I think it makes more sense being shortcake as it's cake like and short, there's no bread involved as far as I'm concerend, I'm sure my grandad will answer this so I'll post his reply when he's had time to find his glasses and work out how to switch the monitor on, you alright there Gerry? What? I'm in New Zealand, you remember huh? Anyway, back to the homemade shortbread/cake, is it heck as like, it comes oot a packet when our backs are turned, I'm sure of it, all the pieces are perfectly round and look exactly the same, and the bird who runs the cottage looks like she's never been near an oven in her puff, the office is open from 09:30 in the morning or when she can drag her hungover ass out of bed, no baking here I tell thee.

On the topic of shortcake/bread, I can't believe it's taken me almost 3 weeks to tell you about our favourite sweet treat here, we were in the supermarket in Auckland at the start of our trip and were wandering around looking for something cheap to stop Fiona's sweet cravings when we came across
Andrew showing some legAndrew showing some legAndrew showing some leg

one for the lady readers.
DUNDEE shortcake biscuits, a big packet for $1.49, about 50p, we got them for the novelty factor and they were amazing, we've been getting them every time we're at the shops now, I've added a photo for proof of purchase.

Anyway we were chatting about travelling south and Fiona mentioned we were heading to the Glaciers next, one dude had just came from there so I asked how long it took him as I thought it looked like a long drive, 5 hours or so, "two days" he replied, "you can't drive it all at once, well you can but you'd be mad, about 16 hours drive time". I shot Fiona some evils, I had suggested stopping half way previously as it looked like a long drive but when we booked all our accomodation from Auckland Fiona decided that there was nothing to see in between, well to be fair she referred to the Rough Guide and it suggested as much, or so she tells me.

We had already booked accomodation though so we would just have to leave early and boot it, no more beers for me, well ok a couple more but only so I'd sleep
How cool am I?How cool am I?How cool am I?

I wear this ALL the time
well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Fiona keeping it realFiona keeping it real
Fiona keeping it real

for all in Nelson, word up.


Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb