Friendship with the Mountain (by Trisha)


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Believe it or not, a fortune cookie once told me “there is a true and sincere friendship between you and the mountain.” I still have that tiny piece of paper and have always thought how cool it was that a little cookie could know me so well. Spending 3 days in the tiny town of Mt. Cook, home of the tallest peak in NZ, deepened that friendship even more. I was very lucky to get 2 clear days out of 3 where 360 degree panoramic views of impressive snowcapped mountain peaks and river-filled valleys flooded my eyesight. Dramatic blue glaciers, iceberg filled lakes and many different hikes & walks filled my days. There is not much to do in Mt. Cook but set off on foot and explore.... and so that I did... I’m not sure how many kilometers my legs clocked, but lets just say I’m having a hard time walking today. I may need new legs. 😊 Instead of a hut or tent like many mountaineers in this town, I stayed in the YHA, the perfect place to just chill, especially after my time in Queenstown. I planned to stay for 2 nights, but extended my stay to 3. Witnessing nature at its best was hard to say good bye to. I’ll keep this short and let the many pictures speak for themselves. Unfortunately, as pretty as the pix are, there is truly no way to capture the aw-inspiring beauty I just encountered. Its also impossible for you to hear the amazing sounds of nature... birds chirping, the river rushing like mad under the suspension bridges or the ice crashing like thunder into the lakes. I’ll never forget it! PS: Mt. Cook got its own blog because it is truly that special!
Its January 16th and I’m on a long bus ride to Christchurch to get my kite gear and head to the North Island. I hear its like another country... sweet as.




Additional photos below
Photos: 70, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



17th January 2010

Love it
Rock climbing to rock music. Love it. Favorite shot is the very last picture but you def. have an eye for all things beautiful.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb