Picton - Juggler Rests


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Picton
December 15th 2002
Published: December 15th 2002
Edit Blog Post

I had phoned and booked the Jugglers Rest Backpackers a few days in advance after reading the name in the BBH guide. Sounded like a place I should visit, juggling is one of my now too many hobbies. Going across on the ferry I read in the Lonely Planet - run by professional jugglers! Going to learn some new tricks!

True enough after walking across from the ferry point (note: check for free pickups next time) I walk into the yard of the Jugglers Rest and there are guys passing clubs, spinning diablos and a few guitars lying around. Nice, I felt at home straight away.

Gary an English guy had come over to New Zealand as a young man, street performing, met his wife, started a juggling shop in Christchurch. He now lives with his small family just behind the hostel. The backpackers is really cosy and friendly and has all sorts of toys around, diablos, clubs and juggling balls. I spent the first evening jamming with Gary on guitar, and the next day juggling, practising and learning some tricks with five balls, (which I can nearly do), learning to pass clubs, jamming with Willy on guitar. Passing clubs with Steve. Some more diablo. What a fantastic day, if I spent a few weeks here I would get so good on guitar and at juggling ¨C nearly considered it, Steve is a very lucky guy to be working there.

The next morning I met Freddy ¨C a German guy, talked about things and learnt that there is a really nice trek in amongst the Queen Charlotte Sounds ¨C the Queen Charlotte Trek, Freddy wanted to walk it so I decided to give it a go as well.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

4 Clubs4 Clubs
4 Clubs

Just...


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb