Week 3 -Part 2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Marlborough » Picton
March 5th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got the ferry to the south Island early the next day. really excited. Ferry trip was spectacular through the Marlborough Sounds on the way into Picton. Arrived in Picton and got settled into hostel. Spent the afternoon on Bobs Beach swimming in the sea. Feel so much better here. Its true what they say that the more people there are the lonelier you can feel. Here I felt really relaxed and more like my old self again. Had 'fush and chups' for tea (with Shark) and got into a debate with an australian girl who rekoned that the aussies had invented our national dish. The bloody cheek. Back at the hostel, on the way to the kitchen, had the unfortunate experience of coming face to face with several elderly german gentleman 'relaxing' in their birthday suits by the side of the hot tub. Call me a prude, but there is a time and a place, and not something that I should have had to witness until I am at least 65. They didn't seem to care though, so good on them I suppose.

The next day, I went on a guided kayaking trip. It was so relaxing (apart from when the wind picked up) I definately am going to do it again. Met some cool people on the trip and had a really good laugh. Am definately starting to chill out more now. In the afternoon, I walked back on the Queen Charlotte track looking out over mountains and sparkling water. The walk took 4 hours and as I was on my own at one point I got into a bit of a trance like state walking along daydreaming and thinking about everyone back in blighty.

The next day I got chatting to a really nice Dutch guy called Matt. He had hired a car and offered to drive me to Nelson to spare me the bus. It felt strange being in a car again, but at least I could at last listen to some decent music (the radio over here is fairly dire- usually dido and crowded house on repeat which is played so loud that it can drown out your ipod) and take unscheduled stops. When I arrived in Nelson (the sunshine capital of NZ) it was raining, so took a bus to the "World of Wearable art' museum which was one of the best museums I have been to. Basically costumes made from all sort of random things like golf tees and plastic bags.

Also because it was raining, I went shopping, and spent an entire weeks budget on clothes that I dont need and that I cant actually fit in my rucksack. I Know I know! Felt sick actually at the thought of how much I had spent. True yorkshire girl. Will have to tighten the belt and resort to super noodles for tea!! AARRRGGHHH

Later

Fogg xx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb