Cycling with Sore Legs!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Pukaki
March 26th 2009
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

26th March 2009 - ACHEY LEGS FOR CYCLING!!!
I slept ok apart from the aching legs!! I have done a lot of exercise in my time but I have never felt pain as I did in my legs today after the walk down the mountain. My quads were killing and I could hardly walk properly they were that stiff. Partly my own fault as I failed to stretch once I had got to the bottom of the mountain but by gum…this was pain!! Nat felt pretty much the same and neither of us were looking forward to getting on the bikes today!!


I managed to crawl out of bed and hobble to the shower. I hoped the warm water may help but no such luck…the pain was here to stay!! We then had a tasty breakfast a world apart from water porridge before packing up our stuff and checking out!


We set off on the bikes at about 9.30am. Poor poor legs! It was fairly flat out of the village and so at least we could ease into it a little and we took hope from the fact that it was a short day…only 54km if all went to plan! The ride wasn’t too bad though we did expect there to be more downhill as the ride to Mount Cook had seemed like a constant climb. I definitely didn’t remember the downhills that we seemed to have to cycle up on the way back but maybe only the hard parts stick in your memory!


We made it the 23km to Glentanner by around 11.30am. We rested there for 20 minutes and tried to book ahead for 2 beds at Pukaki Downs but we just got the answer phone. It was going to be a case of just rocking up and hoping they had room for us! We kept our fingers crossed!


After resting we continued on our way towards the Pukaki Down Hostel. Only 31km to go so not too bad! The Irish/French couple that we had met at Mueller Hut passed us on the way and pulled over for a chat. Really nice couple and gave us a short rest whilst we chatted and exchanged emails. They were very impressed with the cycling though both admitted that the padded pants weren’t so hot! I didn’t argue!! After around 10 minutes we said bye and set off on our way again.


We faced a couple of hills but nothing major and arrived at Pukaki Downs at around 1.30pm. So pleased…or not when we were advised that it had closed for the season and we would either have to cycle another 10km to Twizel or pay $100 each to stay in a lakeside cottage!! Do I look like money bags? I think not and back on the bikes we got!!


We cycled to the same tin shed hostel/farmhouse that we stayed in 3 nights previous. Got the same room too. It was nice and the people there were lovely too. They even drove us to town to get some shopping, as we could not face getting on the bikes again that day. I had begun to get saddle sores too, which was neither pleasant nor attractive! Blooming bike seats!!


Once shopped, we chilled out at the hostel for the remainder of the day. We watched TV, had several cups of tea, ate and then went to bed. I really hoped my legs would feel better the following day.


Cycled 64km/40 miles



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb