Home Sweet Kaikoura


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
May 21st 2010
Published: May 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey! It's been a while... but I'm alive and well! I have tried to type this thing 2 times, each time the internet has messed up and erased most of it... third times a charm.. I hope!

After dropping Morg at the airport, Karlene Jean and I cruised our way (once more) up to Kaikoura. It is such a beautiful place, that I can't seem to stay away from. I stopped at the lookout, to admire the mountains and the ocean, before settling myself back into the 11 bed dorm. As miserable as that sounds, I quite liked it.. well, minus the snoring. I do not understand how people do not wake themselves up when they sound like a freight train coming through the walls?? How is this possible? Snoring is something earplugs cannot defeat. A loud snore, low snore, one far way, one from under the covers, a snore that even shakes their own bed.. I have heard all kinds of snores, and yet I don't think I will ever understand. One thing I do know: no one thinks they snore. The loudest snorer of them all... "does not snore"! It's incredible.

Ok anyway.. so.. back in the 11 bed dorm.. cleaning the Dusky Lodge in exchange for free accomodation. All cleaning really entails is making the beds.. the guests take, or are supposed to take, their sheets and pilowcases.. I just put clean ones back on.. simple enough. Other cleaning would be "hoovering", cleaning the kitchens, or "toilets". Hoovering is my favorite, well.. to watch, because whoever is doing it looks like they are on Ghostbusters. There is a little backpack that attachs to the handle/sucker upper part. It's hard to get the theme song out of my head once I get goin...

Now, it's been WAY over when I said I was going to get a job, but I have to be honest.. I loved bumming around and just waiting for whatever happens to happen! Come on, you would too. But sooner rather than later.. it finally hit me, hard.. I needed a J.O.B. Lucky for me, some random guy from town came through the hostel looking for people to "work in the vineyard". I didn't know what that meant, nor did I really care. It was cash in hand and starting tomorrow. So, a few other cleaners, a couple of randoms, and myself were picked up and taken to a nearby vineyard the following morning. We get out of the car, the guy goes "pick the leaves" and that is what we did. I became a leaf picker/plucker or whatever you want to call it when you get the leaves off the vine. Not one of us had ever worked in a vineyard, let alone knew anything about NZ wine/wine making.. minus the fact that the cheapest form comes in a box and is commonly referred to as "goon".. that we did know. 😊 So our little hands were fast at work.. pulling, plucking, picking, and most likely destroying. For the first two minutes or so we were worried we weren't doing it right, but then we remembered we didn't really care.. he said "pick the leaves".

Yes, it was very monotonous work, but that is also why I didn't mind it. We would talk for the first hour or so then everyone seemed to drift off into their own little worlds. Thinking, remembering, dreaming. It was sort of theraputic in a way. Your hands were moving, but your mind was racing even faster which made the time fly. We were outside with the teal blue ocean one way and mountains draped across the other... and getting paid. I did this for the next few days then the weather started to turn. Two other cleaners and I went out in the misty drizzly rain, but again, it wasn't as bad as it could have been. We were prepared and dressed in our "rain gear"... which means we had on our rain jackets.. with big black trash bags on top and grocery bags covering our shoes. We looked like morons, but we were dry. The following day, just one other guy and I went out. It also happened to be my birthday! 😊 We were just going to go for a little bit, to pass some time of the day and before we knew it the clouds started to change and we decided to head back to Dusky. As I am driving, on the other side of the road mind you, things start crashing into the windshield! It was hitting so hard I seriously thought it was going to break the windshield. It was hail! I don't think I have ever really seen hail in my life, and certainly not like this. Gary and I were having to yell at each other because we couldn't hear over the hail. I was having a mild freak out! I didn't know where to go/what to do. I would try to pull over, but just began sliding everywhere. At one point, we could barely see. I finally was able to pull over, but without any cover over us. It was so bizarre, scary, and a little exciting all in one. After a few minutes, it stopped and we made it safely back to Dusky. whew. Oh and yes, the word of the day was 'hail'... I was all over it... oddly enough, I can't grow up even on my birthday. 😊

Well, I shouldn't speak too soon.. maybe my mind didn't grow up, but my body.. geez! I swear I woke up with arthritis in two of my fingers! They still hurt today.. and no, it's not from the leaf picking.. I'm flat out getting old! I may be closer to 30 than to 20, but I'm hanging on to these mid-twenties as long as I can! 😊 With it still being my birthday, we had a little get together at a friends house. We were just chattin and out of nowhere comes this tiny little cake with too many candles on top and what was that? Oh right, it was a plastic baby chick, up in flames. I'm still not sure where the baby chick cake topper idea came from, but it was cute nonetheless, in a strange, burnt way. I had two melting googly eyes amongst a ball of yellow burning fuzz staring back at me. They tried and it was much appreciated. 😊 Later, we went out to the normal spot, The Strawberry Tree. It was alright, but I really missed celebrating at home, with some of you! Holidays (and the like) just aren't as much fun when your not with the ones you love the most! (awwww, I know) 😊 How much more I appreciate even the littlest of things! Soon after was St. Patricks Day... usually one my favorites. However, like the bday, it just wasn't the same. No parade, no beads, but luckily there was green beer! The day after that, was Smiths birthday. I think he might have felt the same way I did, it just wasn't the same without all of his friends around him. We made the most of it anyway. Same story as before, minus the burning baby chick. We had homemade pizza for din, little cake, lots of candles, and to the tree we went.

The hail storm, not us, actually did damage the vineyard. Therefore, I was out of work. So, began the job hunt.. which usually started off each day with good intentions, then I ended up going spear fishing with Smith, or to the beach, or reading by the pool, or taking a nap.. you get the point. A few days in to this "job hunting" I heard a restaurant down the street was hiring. I went in to fill out an application, but they were out. We talked for a little bit and I was to come back the following day, CV aka resume in hand. (I can't remember what CV stands for) I have worked in 2 restaurants before, but didn't have them on my "CV" because all of that info is childcare/education related, which gets me nowhere in the food and bev world. So, off I go the next day, without my CV because the hostel printer was out of ink (which is technically not lying because it really was low!) but mostly because I didn't want to have to type up a whole new CV. She told me they still were out of the application forms, but to come back towards the end of the week. I thought this was going nowhere fast, but low and behold they called me and I had a "trial" set for that weekend. They do "trials" around here, which means you go and if they like you, you get hired, if not, you are a sucker and they used your free help for a night. Luckily, I am no sucker! I got the job, but it was only for two nights a week. Yes, it's better than nothing, but still not enough for something.

After the joys of being newly employed, I got some more good news. One of the managers of Dusky was leaving for a 3 week trip to Australia, which meant the other manager was taking on double the amount of work for the time being. So, they asked me if I would be the "head cleaner". Yep, that's me. Head cleaner MK. lol. I know this will come as a shock to no one in my family. I have always been the tidy one of the bunch, with tidy maybe being a bit of an understatement. 😊 I don't get paid for it, but I did get an upgrade. From the 11 bed dorm top bunk, to a real bed (a double even), in my own room, with my own TV, next to my own, girls only, bathroom. It's glorious! All of that, which is a ton, for barely any more work. I have to be there a little bit earlier, but that's only so I can see what needs to be done and then assign people to clean it... which I know shocks my family even less. haha... cleaning and being bossy... I'd say they two are of my stronger qualities. At least I know it, right? 😊 It eats Smith up inside that I get to tell him what to do.. ha, it's not like he cleans properly anyway, but it still gets to him. I find it really amusing. Getting my own room came at a great time too, because Smith and I weren't really on the same page there for a while. Boys will be jerks, but we move up and onward!

As I settled into my cosy little room, I got visitors! Michael and Lacy were on a road trip and stopped in Kaikoura for a few days. Michael was absolutely determined to catch some crayfish (looks like a lobster, but without pinchers) and Kaikoura just so happens to be the spot. Kaikoura actually means 'meal of crayfish'... (Kai -food and koura -crayfish). They went fishing and came back with some crays and a few paua. Paua is something similar to abalone.. which doesn't help me at all because I don't know what that is either, but maybe you do! 😊 They have a gorgeous shell. Anyway, they went fishing and cooked an amazingly delicious meal. After stuffing ourselves, we were hanging out, talking by the fire, and BAHH BAHH BAHH BAHH BAHH (that's the fire alarm, not a sheep) goes off. Panic rushes over me immediately.. not because I thought there was an actual fire, but because I knew there wasn't. Let me explain.. the owner of the hostel aka "Happy Jack" is in fact, not happy at all, ever, or at least to us measly cleaners. He charges the person who sets off the alarm $1500 dollars!! I have never heard it go off before and it made me so nervous! I seriously thought our fire set off the alarm, and we were about to be charged. Michael was not comprehending the urgency to get out of the building and as far away from our seats as possible, all the while acting natural. Thankfully, it wasn't us and we had the all clear to go back inside. Just as we sit back down and finally move off the subject... it goes off again! There was a water leak somewhere, which was, ironically, setting off the fire alarm.

The next day, Michael, Lacy, Smith and I were headed to Christchurch for an Old Crow Medicine Show concert. I had seen them once before in Charleston and absolutely love them. If you're not familiar with them, check em out. Bluegrass goodness. Besides, we all were curious and a little afraid as to what kind of crowd would come of out the woodworks for this one all the way in NZ. We made it to Christchurch and checked into the hostel. We opted out of the 60 bed, yes, 60 bed dorm room and for our own 4 bed dorm. We went for pizza and drinks before heading to the show. As we were walking up, we saw the lead singer guy outside and decided to say hello. He wants to be Johnny Cash so bad, it's pathetic. He was trying to talk with a real Southern twang and it was fake and awful. His singing however, was excellent. We hit the town afterwards and had a really good night, finished off with some tasty late night food. mmmm. Check out came all too early and we were back on the road to Kaikoura. (Connie Chung!) We took a quick tourist drive and eventually made it 'home', only to sleep the rest of the day.

The next night was my first real night at Tuti's, the restauant. Tuti is the owner, head chef, and mom. She and her five daughters run the place. Then, there I am with another cleaner, Kyle. He's from Canada and either on coffee or alcohol at all times... absolutely hilarious and super nice. The girls are incredibly nice too, and so cute. They crack me up so much. I love it. Plus, the food is amazing. I kind of forgot what it's like to go to a restaurant! They have all sorts of stuff.. from steaks to crayfish to curry. I am really lucky and thankful I was able to this job! Plus, I still get to talk to people from all over. Never fails, once they ask me where I am from and I say Mississippi, they always, always spell it! It's something I guess everyone learns in school and it makes me so happy inside every time. 😊 We also get a ton of locals that come in, and often, which is always a good sign. You don't get tips in NZ, so it doesn't matter if you're slow or busy, you still get paid the same. Instead of writing things down on a pad, or having to remember them, they have this awesome little palm pilot gadget. You just touch the screen for whatever the person orders, hit the finalize button and it shoots it straight to the kitchen before you even leave the table. The only trouble is.. finding what they order! haha, I've gotten much better, but at first it was like looking for the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow.

April Fools Day was a bit of a bust. I love pranks, but you can't really go pulling pranks on people when you're not sure how they'll react. Smith would have just been annoyed with me, so he wasn't much fun. I was going to say that I was coming home as my facebook status, but then I figured that would be mean! haha so it came and went, just like every other day.. ho hum. 😞 You better watch your backs next year! Double duty. 😊

As much as I enjoyed the two nights a week in Tuti's, it just wasn't enough. Yeah, I was making money, but if I'm ever going to leave NZ, I have to make enough for a flight out.. and at a few hours here and there, I'd be here long overdue my visa. One of the cleaner girls got a job at the bakery next door, but she was leaving the next week. We coordinated when she was going to tell them, with when I should come in and ask for a job. She quit, I came in, and Presto! Now I was working 2 mornings and 4 afternoons in the Bakery and 2 nights at Tuti's. This is all swell and good.. however, Bakery food + Tuti's food + me = Chubby McChubberston. Not so good. But anyway.. back to the 2 mornings. 6 AM people. 6 AM! I might be able to lose weight, but I will never be a morning person. My second day on the job, I wake up at 7:16. Good, good, at least I'm off on the right foot.. or maybe not so much. I flew into that place like a bat out of hell, and I'm pretty sure I scared the owner. He was really nice about it and said "we all make mistakes" - like that was supposed to make me feel better or something. Anyway.. I haven't been late since (knock on wood). I work "Sat day" and Sunday mornings, which entails smelling all the freshly baked goodness rolling out of the ovens, as well as icing things, making custard tarts, slicing bread, washing dishes, and usually putting some utensil(s) in the wrong place. When I first started, I was being taught by this Malaysian girl, Satine, who for the life of me I cannot understand and who I always want to call Saltine. It's awful. She tells me how to do something, I either mess it up or do it in some way she doesn't approve of, and then she either shrugs her shoulders in disgust or laughs straight in my face, which is always a little ok with me bc then I don't feel so bad about the saltine thing.

So between Tuti's and the Bakery, I have gotten to know a few of the locals. Some of them think I don't sleep, ha. It's a tiny little town so it's great for saving money. I rarely drive anywhere, which Karlene is a whole other topic in herself, I eat for free at least a few days and two nights a week, no accommodation fees/bills (except internet, of course).. I was homesick for a little bit, but I've gotten over it a bit and it's great at the moment! 😊 haha, I mean that in the best way Mom, I still always miss you! Just workin hard for the money, I suppose! I have a happy little "home".

As far as getting out of Kaikoura and traveling a little more, I haven't done too much. The nearest "big city" is about an hour and a half away. A few of us needed to go to Warehouse for some stuff, so we piled in Karlene Jean and off we went. Headed for the, not so, bustling town of Blenheim. Along the way there is this cool area that I like to call 'baby seal daycare' and it truly is just that. It's a little area just down from a cool waterfall and across from the beach. The momma seals leave the little ones here while they go fishing for the day. They are sooo cute and sooo many! I would say probably 50 or 60 little baby seals just swimming around, sleeping, barking, and playing with each other. I could've stood there watching for a long time just cracking up at them playing. We checked out the waterfall and were back in the car. We stopped in some random 'town' to gas and I overheard a police office say there was going to be a roadblock down the highway in about 30 minutes. No good! This meant we had to scramble to get back in the car and try to beat it! Karlene Jean has so many issues, she can't pass her 'warrant of fitness' test, she also has an expired registration and in the Kiwi world this is absolutely not acceptable. People are shocked and appalled when I tell them I don't have a WOF or a Rego, but I can't get them! Well, I could, but then I would be even poorer than poor! So.. that is also why I rarely drive anywhere. But it was ok, because we made it before the roadblock! Since I am now employeed I decided to treat myself... to a hairdryer! It has been 'brilliant'! I love being able dry my hair again! I still try not to use it that regularly, but sometimes it's just nice.

On my days off, it's pretty boring around here, so one day I got a little group together and we set out for a hike. Mount Fyffe is in the background of everything in Kaikoura and I have wanted to go up it for a long time.. so this is what we did. Two English girls, an English guy, an Irish guy, and myself. I actually met the Irish guy in Taupo at the hostel, and ran into him again in Kaikoura.. random. Anyway.. we didn't really know what we were in for, but we soon found out. As I would assume with any mountain... up, up, up. We were turning and walking backwards at some points because our thighs were killing us so much. Just fifteen minutes into the hike and you could already see all over Kaikoura. Up, up, up some more... and just over 2 hours later, we made it to the hut. There is a little 8 bed hut you can stay in over night. We sat and had a little snack, then up to the summit. It was awesome to see over the whole of Kaikoura and to really see the peninsula stick out. It was extremely windy at the summit and pretty chilly. We hung out for a bit, took some pics, and back down we went. It took us about 3 hours to get up and about one to get down. It was that steep. There was a great sunset. It is simply beautiful the way mother nature works. Simply beautiful. After the sun set, we were in the dark. I was the only one with a headlamp. It was like a pack full of dummies coming down the mountain. The Irish guy ended up staying the hut overnight. There were a few other people staying so he thought he would too, as for the rest of us, we had to get back for cleaning the next morn. booo. Ha, when I woke up the next morning the top of it was covered in snow! I think I would have frozen had we stayed up there! Back to Dusky, shower, and straight to bed!Something happened to me on the way down and I think I pulled something in my leg.. the next morning my left leg was almost stiff. I was walking around like I had a peg leg all day. Horrible.

Since then, not too much else has been going on! Work, work, and save, save! Oh! I almost forgot to tell you.. I'm famous! haha, well, ok I'm not.. but I am in a commercial aka 'advert'! They needed extras for this commercial and all of us at Dusky, plus some, did it! We got paid 100 bucks for sitting on a boat. We did have to be there really early, but it was worth it because we saw an awesome sunrise as well. The commercial is for BNZ (my bank) and how they have helped Kaikoura Whale Watch. To watch, copy and paste this link into your browser! ( http://www.bnz.co.nz/About_Us/1,1184,3-156-503-4313.html ) I'm on the boat in the first one, not in the middle one, and on the boat again in the one that hasn't come out yet. haha, I know it's really not that exciting, but it is pretty cool when it comes on TV and I can say I was 'technically' in it. 😊 Plus, Whale Watch is awesome and hopefully I'll get to do it before I leave Kaik.

Smith has been working as a chef for Kaikoura Winery, but they soon found out he was working illegally. His working holiday visa was up so he had to give them a fake number... they found out about it, but were cool because he told them he was leaving soon. The head chef started calling him Muchacho because he was like an illegal immigrant.. which really makes me laugh. He sold Chooky Blue and had been using Karlene Jean, the poor car, he just destroyed her- I'll save that story for the next blovel though. Anyway.. he was using/destroying her so I didn't have a car. I wanted to go up there on his last day, but it was raining and too far to walk. Yes, mom, I hitchhiked.. and it was great and not scary at all. I stood on the side of the road with a little piece cut from a cornflakes box that read "5 kms".. and exactly 8 minutes and 24 seconds later (yes, I timed it) I was picked up. A nice lady just on her way home from the grocery saw me and decided she couldn't leave me out there. haha. I made it out alive! So I made it on his last day and it was soo good. He looked quite cute in his chef gear. I will definitely miss his cooking skills! He left about 3 weeks ago for Indonesia. It was really sad to see him go, but I was excited for him too. New adventures ahead! He has become a really good friend and we've been through a lot in a little time together. He was the main part of how I have the "home" I do in Kaikoura. 😊 So I'll always be thankful for that. As for now, I know I left out a million trillion things, but I am so happy to have you up to date!

Thanks so much for reading!


peace,

MK




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 39


Advertisement



21st May 2010

MK, these pictures are amazing!!
21st May 2010

I actually read the blog on the post date!! I have a few random comments: Has Karlene Jean finally met her maker? (I guess that would be the Toyota god...) I love that I can picture what you describe. Baby seals! When I first saw that burnt chick I freaked out a little bit. Love you much and save your money for a flight home! So glad you finally got to work in a vineyard! This is my favorite line: "we all were curious and a little afraid as to what kind of crowd would come of out the woodworks for this one all the way in NZ". So true!
21st May 2010

I loved your most recent post from NZ, and all the incredible photos! My boyfriend and I are headed there (indefinitely) this summer and your blog is giving us a great idea of what to expect! We also have a travel blog that is always looking for tips, photos, food finds, etc to share. If there's anything you'd like to contribute we'd love to post it for our readers! If you have the time, check it out dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email us at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb