The deep south


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Invercargill
April 21st 2010
Published: May 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

We were on the bus by 6am and headed on our way back to Te Anau to drop off some things and get breakfast before we made our way to Invercargill. I slept most of the way. I decided not to go to Stewart Island to save myself some money so I stayed in Invercargill with 2 other girls who didn’t go either.

Pictures

Stewart Island is New Zealand’s 3rd island and there is not much there but a small town, walking trails and a lot of kiwi birds. But it’s still rare to see kiwi birds there as kiwi’s are nocturnal and only come out at night and are shy animals.

Walked over to the supermarket to get lunch for the next day and then went to see the actual World’s fastest indian motorcycle. It’s on display here in Invercargill as that is where Burt Munroe is from.

Walked over to the Botanical gardens here and walked around. Lots of ducks and gave them a few crumbs but then I had ducks surrounding me and even following me. Organized all my stuff to leave the next morning and that’s about all there is to do in Invercargill. It’s in the deep deep south. It has a bit of a reputation as well. A lot of “rednecks” as we’d call them. I’ve never seen SO MANY mullets!!!!

The next day we got picked up and cruised out of Invercargill through the Caitlins. We made a couple of stops, one to see a lighthouse and one in Curio Bay. We had a fun time with a seal who was posing for us there. Off to Dunedin from here which I’ll tell you about in my next post!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb