Cascade Saddle - Day Three


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Glenorchy
December 16th 2010
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Dart ValleyThe Dart ValleyThe Dart Valley

Looking back up the valley - Dart hut is just around the corner on the right
Very noisy night in Dart hut but I sleep well on my precious mattress having managed to shuffle a table and some benches out of the way and claim a wee private corner of the main room.

Slow start this morning - the feet are feeling the effects of yesterday's effort. I shake Owen firmly by the hand and thank him warmly "well, couldn't have you kipping on a bench after a hike like that mate". Then it's back on the trail. 6-8 hours to Daley hut is the published agenda.

Sore feet give me a gentle pace but a desire to get out of the sun drives me to the hut in about 5 hours and I claim a bunk. As it turns out, we're ok for bunks this time (lucky, as the hut is much smaller) and good evening playing Israeli shithead (that's a card game by the way) with my new Dutch friends and a rather bemused Israeli who can't follow the rules. Put the country to rights with a pair of sheep farmers from Gore and chat with some English ex-pats who can't work out why I don't already live here.

People keep saying to me "but you live here now right?". I have to work quite hard to convince them that I still live in England and I'm getting used to the look of sympathy I get when they realise I do still live and work in England, I do still go to an office, I do still queue on the motorway, etc, etc.

Advertisement



23rd December 2010

She'll be right
I probably meant odored in the last post. About time they has a spell checker on this site :-) But you DO live there! Your body might visit the UK, but your vital spark remains in NZ.

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb