West Coast


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
December 20th 2011
Published: December 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Queenstown, I started my journey back up towards Auckland starting with Wanaka, which is a lovely town, again on the edge of it's own lake and with lots of the same activities as Queenstown but less boisterous! There are some good walks, Puzzle World and a quirky cinema call Paradiso that has sofas and armchairs to sit in and serves home-made cookies and ice-cream in the intermission. Continuing on my way North, I stopped at a place called Haast - why? because the guidebook said it was good for bird-watching so I thought a nice place to relax. That didn't work out though because, firstly it rained most of the day but apart from that, as it typical in New Zealand you really need your own transport as the bird-watching is a few kilometres away. I tried down by the river but nothing! As there is nothing but a few houses, a supermarket, cafe, pub and 3 motels - I'd give Haast a miss! My next stop was Franz Joseph. I didn't walk on the glacier but I did walk up to it which takes at least 1 1/2 hours return from the car park and at least another
Lake HaweaLake HaweaLake Hawea

The most beautiful lake in New Zealand
hour from the town itself. Fortunately, there is a shuttle bus to take you to the car park. I have to say I was a little disappointed with the glacier itself and several people have also said there are better glaciers - not sure where though! On my return from the glacier I was looking forward to spending some timein the hot tub at my hostel, however, although the name suggests the water should be hot, it shoud not be on the verge of bubbling before you get in and turn it on. Next stop - Hokitika - the jade capital of New Zealand. It was a lovely beach with proper sand not pebbles and not black and very long. a bit like the one street in Hokitika - it took me 10 minutes with a very heavy backpack to walk to the hostel! Note to self - check location independently of the hostels own website. Fortunately the weather was better here and not raining although it was a little windy so I managed a walk along the beach - didn't find any jade though. Got some gorgeous photos of the sunset before heading off to the Glow Worm Dell, I had a little bit of a wait but when they got going it was just like looking up at the stars. Westport was my next stop and unless you're interested in the history of coal-mining again it's one to miss if you are short of time. The thing I really liked about my stay was the hostel - it was built in the 1890's. Just to finish off for now - the bus driver that took me on to Nelson thinks we are all aliens!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Job advertJob advert
Job advert

The Kiwi's definitely have a sense of humour.
The ChimneyThe Chimney
The Chimney

The main blowhole at Punakaiki Pancake rocks. That's not steam it's sea water.
TripinnTripinn
Tripinn

The hostel at Westport


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb