Me And My Knob


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
April 28th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

8 hours return trip is what the guide book said. Yet only two hours and five minutes after leaving the valley floor I am sitting on top of the comically named "Alex Knob" (1303m). I know jokes are going to come of this... The view is great from the top of the Knob. The Franz Joseph glacier lies below penned in by the rugged mountains of rock and snow. Every now and then helicopters fly up the valley taking day trippers around, but they seem so far away they are more like flies.

1 hour 25 minutes later im back in the valley floor. 8 hours my arse. I did a couple of smaller walks before heading back to the hostel and doing fun things like eating jam sandwiches and washing my clothes.

Once dark had fallen I went up the road to where I heard there were glowworms, and indeed glowworms I found. Lots of them infact, all glowing and everything.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



30th April 2006

wicked mate
Glad your following in my foot steps!! lol and getting to see what beautiful a country NZ is!!

Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 87; dbt: 0.198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb