Franz Joseph


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
September 28th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My next location was Franz Joseph where my activities begun!!! There is so much to do here in NZ but being on a budget I promised myself just to do alot of the free or cheap activites i.e the sightseeing, walks etc but I did limit myself to a few of the big activities and these were Kayaking, Glacier Hiking and Skiing!

On the way we stopped at Ross Goldfields which was where gold had been found and you could have a go at trying to find your own! When we got to Franz I did the Kayaking on Lake Mapourika in the afternoon, it is a black water lake and we ended up rowing 7k in total which I was pretty chuffed about beings my upper arm strength is about as good as my little finger! But I did it, may have always been a good few feet behind the others but it was fantastic and it was like being on glass because of the reflections on the surface and the views were amazing!

The next day I went on a glacier hike which was a really really good day, they kitted you out in all the warm
At the Goldfields At the Goldfields At the Goldfields

Me trying to find some gold!
gear and spikes for your boots and we went exploring around the glacier. It was pretty amazing and I really enjoyed the day and in the evening I had some hot soup which the hostel had made for everyone each night and it was free which was a bonus!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



7th October 2007

Franz Joseph
Had a few blogs arrive together so wondered whether you are having a catch up. The winter views look fabulous and the activities must have been wonderful. Strange you should have met with a goat as LIla and I met some on a beach in Symi although the temperature was a tad higher. Hope you continue to have fun and enjoy the rest of your travels.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb