It just keeps getting better and better...


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
February 25th 2007
Saved: January 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I spent my afternoon in Kaikoura on a whale watching boat where I saw three whales which is apparently really lucky, but the best part of the trip was seeing a 500 strong pod of dolphins on the way back they were leaping in the air and darting under the boat just magic!

The next day was spent in Christchurch I have to say after all the little towns and countryside that we have been travelling through Christchurch seemed a little shabby and I was glad when we hit the road again the next day, and what a day it was! We drove through Porter's and Arthur's pass over the southern alps to the west coast. It was awe inspiring gigantic mountians and great plateaus which made me feel very small and was the best scenery I have seen in my whole life! To top it off we then drove down one of the worlds best coastal drives up to Punakaiki, and if that wasn't enough we then watched the sunset go down over the beach, wow this is what I came to New Zealand for...

Another fun thing that I did in Punakaiki was to go kayaking on a little river with some rapids, it was great and felt like I was in a rainforest, there are also some cool rock formations there called pancake rocks.

Yesterday we all went for a bit of a detour and went to a speedway to watch car carnage it was great fun and we had little bets and I won the most yay! I am now in Franz joseph where this morning I went for a hike up the glacier cool (literally!) very different amazing again its so big! This afternoon i'm going kayaking (again!) on a mirror lake which had great reflections of the surrounding mountains i'm looking forward to it! So i'll let you know how that went soon, a massive rain front is due this afternoon so i may get a little wet!

Sorry I have forgotten the lead for my camera, so pics to follow soon... in the mean time i have added photos of jet boating and hanggliding on the blog for you guys to take a look at.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb