Tuesday & Wednesday


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Fox Glacier
March 5th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday March 3, 2009
Kind of a lazy day. Note to US travelers, New Zealand produce, dairy and baked goods are very fresh and of the highest quality. What they are not is full of the preservatives that we are used to. The result, the milk I had in my fridge said it was bad after yesterday and it was right. Breakfast became peanut butter and jelly with the fresh bread I bought yesterday. Into town to get my ring. When I arrived it had not been mounted and they were concerned that a jeweler was required to mount it correctly. After some discussion, problem solved and the ring will be ready in 4 hours. This gave me plenty of time to take a long walk on the beach, visit all the shops, etc. Around two I have my ring, presents for Carla, other stuff and I’m down the road. A few klm south of Hokitika the highway goes back into the bush. Less than 1/3 of the way into this trip & I have run out of adjectives. This country is so unique and beautiful. Stopped to see the giant sand fly. Arrived in Franz Joseph and checked in at the Holiday Park. Went out for a ride on the bike and the entire gear assembly broke, as in snapped, off of the bicycle. Will see how much it costs to replace and ask Glenda to see if the bike shop will consider a partial refund since I think I only put 6 klm on the bike. Plan B, walk around town. Checked on the walking trails for tomorrow, back to the park and dinner. My first bangers and mashed (three sausages, mashed potatoes and some veggie) Excellent!

Wednesday March 4th. Happy Birthday Travis
“Always be grateful that the first half of the walk is usually the up hill part.”
Sir James Edmund Hillary Stanley ….2009
What a glorious day. The gods are smiling. Of the 365 days in the year it usually rains here 300 days. Yesterday, today maybe tomorrow will be the rare exceptions. I’m doing the Roberts Point Track, 12.5-klm approx 5.5 hours. I get to the trailhead around 11:30 and am off immediately into a sub-tropical wonderland. I took a bunch of pictures and even thought they do show something of what it is like my mind will be the only place that can truly capture the beauty of this area. About 45 min. into the track I reach a sign that warns that beyond this point the trail becomes more difficult and extreme care should be taken. “Fools rush in and get the best seats” Alfred E. Newman ca. 1956. “No S..t?” Jim Skinner, March 4th. As promised the trail becomes more difficult and more rewarding. Down a narrow footing in a shear wall of moss covered stone, several sets of stairs against rock facings. Across streams, moss covered boulders. Long stretches of trail up at approx. a 45-degree angle. Along the way I meet Roger and Lucy from the Netherlands. At one point we sit and chat about travel adventures, our respective hometowns and the good luck of today’s weather. Finally at the trails end I am rewarded with views well worth the effort. I can see helicopters, looking and sounding like over grown dragon flies, buzz around the glacier, some of them landing for a few minutes. A little lower on the glacier I see two groups of trekkers, from this distance not much more than specks, picking their way along on the ice. After about 30 min. I say fair well to Lucy and Roger and head back down the trail. Thankfully down is a little faster than up and certainly much easier on the old legs. Back in the parking lot I decide I haven't abused myself enough for one day so I take the walk up the river bed to get a look at the face of the glacier. Not bad, however the sun was fairly low so it wasn’t as dramatic as I had hoped. Back to town, I’m too tired to eat a big meal so I snack a bit, write this and go to bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1009s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb