Fox Glacier


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Fox Glacier
January 27th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday saw me arrive in Haast after a stiff climb over the Haast Pass. The day was a bit dull but it meant that the hills had cloud hanging over them, which was quite attractive. As I got closer to Haast the rain started and then petered out until i put my washing out later on. I had my first bad experience in Haast, where I had booked into the Haast Lodge for a room at $50. I thought I would treat myself to a better room, but was shown to a hut on the edge of the site. the hut was a bit tatty with plywood floor with no carpet and no services. This meant I would have to trail 80 yards across a puddled car park to the toilet at 3am and there was no bedding included. i aske dfor bedding, but the owner said it was not included at that price. I told him very nicely the going rate for such accommodation was $22 to $30 and that it was very expensive. He threw a wobbly and thrust my $50 into my hand and asked me to leave. He is in the wrong job and should find a job at some state penitentiary as a warden. I went next door and shared a room with three others in much better accommodation for $27 - a better deal by far. Tuesday was a great morning with sunshine and warm. I crossed the Haast bridge, where I had my first glimpse of the sea and proceeded North along the coast line with a decent breeze in my back allowing me to travel in excess of 20 mph for 10k. As usual there were lots of hills going up and down again without gaining height. I always worry when going down since it is always followed by an up. I nearly got to the point where I considered taking off my big chain ring since it was rarely used. As soon as my laden bike sees a hill it drops 15 gears at once and I plod up. There are some very weird sounding birds that make noises like a bell and also a door hinge. I have seen several birds of prey, possible the native KEA. I have been photiographing road kill this week and by far the most popular is Possum, followed by rabbits, birds and mice. All the creeks have names and I have also been recording some. One today was called Windbag Creek. Dragonflies are also in abundance as well as midges - the Deet had been very useful. The village of Fox Glacier is not very high and the glacier itself is only abouot 1000m above sea level, I think, although the map does not state the height. The hostel is very ggod and have met some very nice people. On the road I met a lad who has lived in Langliffe, of all places, who is travelling and finding work on farms for board and lodgings. The weather today has been very hot and sunny all day and must have been 30 degrees, unlike Clitheroe with frost on the ground. I have now read 4 books in 10 days and am looking for another, but cannot find any in this small town. Tommorrow I have arranged a half day trip onto the glacier - await the news.

Advertisement



28th January 2009

Now then...
Father, you don't appear to be having much luck with your accomodation on this trip - the word "plywood" has been utilised on more than one occasion when describing the furnishings. Perhaps you should warn hoteliers in advance about your dodgy prostate so you don't have to trudge across puddled car parks in the middle of the night... I thought perhaps that the bird that you heard making the sound of a bell and a door hinge could have been a Lyre Bird. They can replicate practically any sound they hear. They are renound for replicating chain saws and camera shutters. But I think they can only be found in Australia (not sure). I heard one doing a very realistic impression of my WR250 when I was out in the bush one day! I was rather perturbed to hear that you were photographing road kill. They locals must think you are crazy! Possums are vermin in NZ as they cause a lot of damage. Have fun and I'll see you soon. By the way; it's 41 deg C here today and is forecast 43 tomorrow and 40 for Friday and Saturday. Hopefully it will have cooled a bit by the time you get here. Take care, Paul
28th January 2009

Hi Grandad
hi Grandad! I hope you are having a great time in new-zealend! and Australia. Bye xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx lll(oo)lll ll(~)ll monkey's face!!!! =D
29th January 2009

You're in the right place down there...
Richard - Good to read your reports, hope the leg is getting better. As I was reading about the guy with the crap accommodation I knew exactly what you were going to say next - "He's in the wrong job" ! - found a girl in a Pharmacy in Mallorca last week who the same comment applied to. UK weather forecast is for a return to Arctic conditions next week, so you've got the best deal over there. Best wishes, keep safe.
8th February 2009

Thanks for comments, having a great time and not looking forward to returning to the English winter. Hope you enjoyed Mallorca.
8th February 2009

Hi Rebecca and Olivia, plus Kitty. I am having a good time and not looking forward to returning to the cold. I am now stating with uncle Paul in OZ.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb